Reigning it in

Ever since I committed to running again, I have been having these massive attacks of hunger. This was one of the many reasons I backed off running for a while earlier this year.

But I have decided, instead of letting it deter me, I just need to take control back. I’ve had a week or so to go face down on some carbs so now it is time to take a step back and reign ‘em back in.

Runners: any advice?

Speaking of carbs, I kind of got on a bar kick this week. Here’s another one from Wednesday:

001

And today:

008

All these bars are good and have good qualities but I can’t get dependent on them. I need real food 🙂

In addition to the bars above having a “may contain traces of dairy” disclaimer, I also learned today that the soy milk Starbuck’s uses in it’s drinks may not be vegan. Between this, all the people trying out Vegan Week or Vegan 4-a-day, and a very thought-provoking post from Gena, I have a lot to think about. More on that later.

I had a really great run today! We did 3 miles and then came back to the gym for abs, but got cut short. I think I might have to do an ab challenge soon, I’ve been neglecting them.

I think one of the key things about avoiding carb overload (this happens at night) is to get myself some good post-workout snacks to eat between my run and dinner.

I usually eat a snack about an hour before I work out and then not again until dinner, which can sometimes be a 3-4 hour span. I don’t want to get dependent on bars and I’m not even close to home when I work out so I couldn’t make a green monster.

What am I going to do?

I think the fact that I noticed it, became more aware of it and now have stated it on the blog, I will be more motivated to experiment and learn how to properly fuel myself without overdoing it.

I have some of my own ideas, but I’d happily take suggestions!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 19, 2009, in bars, running, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I don’t have any groundbreaking advice, but it does get better. Your body will get more used to running and you won’t feel that crazy hunger as much. I remember the first time I ran 9 miles- I was like a lion that hadn’t eaten for a month… and I was hungry like that every waking moment! Now I have a big appetite for sure, but it’s not insatiable. Hang in there- you’re body will adjust!

  2. I have the same issue…I find that drinking more water through the day makes a huge difference. I force it down, and that fills my belly up. That way, when I’m hungry, I know it’s real hunger.

  1. Pingback: I think it worked « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

