I think it worked

Today was a really good day. After my post last night about my concerns over eating too much to keep up with my new running program, I did a lot of thinking and research.

Breakfast this morning was of course a green monster.

009

As much as I love these things (and getting 3 cups of spinach in at breakfast) I am kind of glad this challenge is over. I’ve missed my oats!

I think I will try to incorporate these green smoothies into my diet from time to time but I don’t see them as a long term breakfast choice for me, especially not as the weather gets colder.

I snacked on some nuts mid-morning and then for lunch, I had leftover lentils that I made on Tuesday with some steamed green beans.

001

One of the things I mentioned in my post about my running diet was that I thought eating a snack before and after my workout would help keep me from overdoing it when I got home in the evenings.

Well, I think it worked!

I had a slice of whole wheat bread with peanut butter for a snack about 30 minutes before I went to work out.

002

We ran 2 miles and then came back and did some upper body weights and abs. It was great, especially in this beautiful weather we’ve been blessed with (high 50’s and sunshine)!

Then when I got back to work, I had a SoBe Lifewater and a Nature Valley bar.

003

It wasn’t the best snack but one of the only options I could find at work. I intend to plan my snacks better next week.

It also held me over quite well, as I did not get hungry until 7:30 when I started making dinner.

I had a random assortment of foods for dinner tonight: potatoes, carrots + hummus, and couscous. It was random but it was everything I felt like eating and used up more stuff at home instead of going out or buying something at the store.

I cooked the potatoes in the oven at 425 for 20 minutes.

005

And I tried a new hummus! So much better than the “original” flavor of this brand.

004

Yum 🙂

006

That’s organic ketchup 😉

I did go grocery shopping tonight (Josh is at a Megadeth concert) and I got everything we needed for $54 and I get to try a few new things this week, so that is exciting!

I’m getting ready to watch the film “Food, Inc.” which I won in a giveaway on Kath Eats a while back.

011 

I can’t wait to report back my thoughts, I’m sure there will be a few.

I also enjoyed a glass of wine and a slice of cinnamon toast with peanut butter and chocolate chips for dessert 🙂

010

012

Good night friends!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 21, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This day was filled with healthy and delish eats…great job!!!!

    Dude I am so jealous…I did grocery shopping too and spent 83 bucks =/ I am going to have to go out there to do my shopping lol

  2. Mmm looks good! Can’t wait to hear what you think of Food Inc….I still havent seen it!

  3. I have just seen that food.inc. great movie, very shocking industries. to be honest, I get a bit depressed after watching the movie. the whole food chain has a serious problem.
    anyway, that is a movie I would definitely recommend to my friend. enjoy!

  4. That sounds like a great idea to fuel yourself on both ends of the workout. Looks like you had a really great balanced day of eating!

  5. I saw your reply to my comment on Caitlin’s blog… about Kentucky. I read your blog, but didn’t realize you were in Kentucky too. I love it here. Way different than my home state of Texas, but it is awesome. 🙂

  6. I keep telling myself to jump on the green monster bandwagon. Wonder whats holding me back?

Leave a Reply

