Two months

Happy December everyone! I can’t believe it’s here already. Thanks everyone for your sweet comments, I had a much better day today 🙂

I have been vegan for 2 whole months now. It sure seems like it’s been a lot longer than that and slight mishaps aside, I think it is going really well.

For breakfast this morning, I had pumpkin oat bran with raisins, chocolate chips and peanut butter.

001

This breakfast almost held me until lunch but around 10:30, I got a little hungry so I snacked on some almonds.

002

Lunch was totally awesome today! I didn’t blog about it before but I made this awesome tofu on Sunday night:

004

And then today, I had the leftovers, plus some broccoli topped with salsa!

003

I had just the broccoli but wanted to put something on it badly. This was a great choice, I highly recommend it. I think next time, I’ll try hummus. But sometimes I do like broccoli plain, just not today.

Lately, I have been buying the Kroger brand tofu and I have to say, it is really good. I might actually prefer it. The texture is great and it bakes really well (425* for 20 minutes).

Later in the afternoon, I had half of this Clif bar:

004

Then I hit the gym for some weights!

I warmed up with 15 minutes of running on the treadmill (about 1.3 miles) and then got to pumpkin pumping iron 🙂

  • Chest presses
  • Military shoulder presses
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep extensions
  • Lateral raises
  • Front raises
  • Squats
  • Lunges
  • Calf raises
  • Core: Back extensions, crunches, side crunches, reverse crunches, leg lifts, etc.

After the workout, I ate the other half of my Clif bar. I’ve noticed it makes a big difference to eat before and after a workout to keep me from being ravenous when I get home from work.

On the way home, I started thinking about what I wanted to have for dinner. Brown rice and vegetables just sounded so boring, plus I’d already had a few vegetables today.

Hmm…what to have for dinner?

005

PB&J oatmeal, of course!

Sometimes you just have to go with what you are craving. This was delicious and really hit the spot, especially on a cold night.

After my dinner settled, I went for a walk with my friend Candy again. She is due to have a baby any day now so we’re trying to move things along, ha ha. But it was a good walk and I was hungry again when I got home!

006

Times two! Tortilla chips are a food I love a little too much but I finished off the bag and won’t replace it any time soon 😉

Hope Tuesday and the first day of a new month has treated you well. I love the beginning of a new month, it makes me so motivated to try something new or start implementing a new healthy habit.

What new goals are you setting for this month?

Good night friends!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 1, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks, workouts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. 1. To not gain weight over the holidays (through Jan 1)
    2. To not stress about baking and cooking when I have so much of it to do
    3. To get in 6 days of exercise a week – like I do now.

  2. Wow I am almost ashamed to mention all the crap I ate today on my blog after seeing how healthy you ate…why didn’t you post this earlier hahaha it might have stopped me =)

    Koosh congrats to your friend, she must be so excited and anxious =)

  3. Hey Sarah!
    One of my goals is to really look at my dessert intake. I eat really healthy aside from my sweet tooth so I know I’d be a lot healthier if I cut back on the desserts. But i dont want to deprive myself too much. So my goal is to replace really sweet desserts (ice cream, etc) with more nutritious ideas… fruit, cereal, oats, peanut butter, etc.

    Have a great night!
    Jamie

  4. Congrats on your two months of being vegan – that’s awesome! I was thinking you should come up to Indy and we could have a blogger meetup! That would be fun!

    My goals for this month are to maintain my weight, to increase my strength and to complete my 5k next weekend!

    • Jess – I would love to! I need to find a time to come up because I have a friend that lives up there too who I want to visit. It’s a pretty short trip, so I could definitely fit it in somewhere 🙂 Also, I should be there again for the Brickyard, not the race but the Friday and Saturday events, so we’ll have to meet up then too but that’s not until July 😉

  5. Pb&J oats are always delicious…even for dinner 🙂

  6. Wow congrats on being Vegan for two months! I bet that was a very different change for you.

  7. My goals for this month are to workout at least 5 days a week(concentrating on strength training), and tracking my caloric intake as much as possible.
    Congrats on being vegan! That’s a great accomplishment!

  8. Hello! I just started reading your blog, and I think it’s great. You have made a lot of progress, and I think that is wonderful. I just had a question: have you tried lemon juice on your broccoli? If not, try it – that’s how my family eats it, and the two go very well together.

  1. Pingback: Fireproof « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

