Fireproof

Our Wednesday night potluck went off without a hitch. Or a fire, thank goodness. But let’s back up.

Since I had oatmeal for dinner on Tuesday night, I went with a different breakfast.

008

I stole one of Josh’s Lenders bagels and topped it with peanut butter and a sliced banana. The bagel was really plain and left me wanting more. I need to get some of my own – any good recommendations for vegan-friendly bagels?

Snacked on some almonds a few hours later…

009

For lunch I tried another Dr. McDougall’s selections. No broken bowl this time!

010

The lentil soup was really good! I’d put it in my Top 3 of this brand. Only one more to go (will be lunch on Friday).

011

Before my workout, I munched on half a Clif bar and had the other half afterward.

012

Unfortunately, it was raining like a mug, so we were forced to take our workout to the dread-mill. But we did a good 3 miles and then some abs afterwards.

When I got home, I was a little hungry and knew dinner would be an hour later than normal, so I had a spoon of PB.

013

Like the Christmas tree background?

Suzie models it better.

001 (7)

Our potluck this week was Mexican themed. We had some bean dip (with lime tortilla chips not pictured, but eaten heavily).

018

Before it came out of the microwave, Court said it looked like dog food, so we kept talking all night about “how good the dog food tasted” ha ha.

For our entree, Beth made delicious black bean tacos, which I think turned out great.

019

She went the extra mile and purchased the taco shells that stand up on their own. These are so much easier to eat and don’t fall apart nearly as much, I highly recommend them!

Mexican style veggies on the side. I topped my tacos with lettuce, tomato and taco sauce (not pictured).

020

In lieu of dessert, we enjoyed this (not Mexican) bottle of wine 🙂

014

I hadn’t had Riesling in a while…it was yummy! Tastes more like champagne than wine to me. Not as strong as Chardonnay or Pinot Grigio. I’m still a red girl, but this was pretty good.

016

While sipping wine, we watched “Trekkies” which I had never seen. Made me feel sort of okay about being a fan of the things I am because I am not that bad. Right?

What are you an obsessively, totally geeked out fan of? Confess!

Need a yoga mat? Check out the Aurorae giveaway over at Hangry Pants 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 4, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks, workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. love reisling! I am a total white, wine snobbb 🙂 love it all mostly pinot and reisling!
    hmmm geeked out fan…I am going to have to think of that one!

  2. My co-worker and I were just talking about crockpot salsa chicken yesterday – must make it this wknd. And I love lime tortilla chips – wish they had a baked brand!

  3. Oh I am a huge lost fan!

  4. I love black bean tacos! Those look so good. I love the potluck food. All of it makes me hungry.

  5. I heart Yellow Tail! I could also go for some Mexican food right now lol

    Suzie is such a cutie…

  6. Yay Rielsing! Ugh I just love that wine–I’ve never tried the Yellow tail though!

  7. I love Riesling! I’m such a girly wine drinker when I do have it!

    I’m pretty dorky to begin with, so I can’t narrow it down to just one thing!

  8. Just found your blog and wanted to say hi! look forward to reading more 😉

  9. Uh… Twilight. Andrew W.K.
    Maybe Tom Jones as well 🙂
    if you like Riesling, you must try Moscato or Muscat wine! It’s got more flavor (juiciness?) than Riesling and will remind you of champagne, also.

  10. mmm mexican style veggies. I also love the stand up taco shells 🙂 I hate getting messy while eating lol;

    I am obsessed with the band Hanson…but not as bad as some people…before you ask..no they don’t sing mmmbop anymore, yes they play and write their own music…and yes they are all grown up, married..and all have babies and families of their own 😉 lol but ANYWAYS I digress. I have been a fan for over 10 years and their music just makes me feel good 🙂 SOme fans travel as far as the uk to see em play and over 100 shows per year!

    • That’s awesome Jocelyn! I like Hanson, I’ve caught them on a few shows when their latest album came out and they have definitely grown up. They are quite talented too! Thanks for sharing…it reminds me of me and my obsession with the Goo Goo Dolls. I always have to say “yeah, they did that song from City of Angels, but…” ha ha. Thanks for the comments!

  11. I’m totally a dork when it comes to my favorite tv series, which is the X-files. I own the entire 9 seasons and two movies on DVD. I will watch the episodes or movies over and over and over again.. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Feeling soupy « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

