Sleeping, shopping and curry

After getting home around 2 a.m. this morning, I was planning on sleeping until about 9 or so, but Suzie had another plans (meaning it was 7:30).

006 (2)

“You WILL wake up and take me outside now, Mama!”

After I couldn’t say no to Evil Eyes, I was up and went ahead and made breakfast since I was practically starving.

071

Nothing like banana PB oats to quiet a growling tummy stomach. I scratched that out because the word tummy actually bothers me and I don’t use it normally, ha ha.

I also had some coffee with light vanilla soymilk in a Christmas mug, which is another one of my favorite things about this time of year 🙂

072

Once everything settled, I organized my grocery list and coupons for a while before going to my mom’s house for a bit and having lunch at Subway (veggie delight-no pic).

Then I hit the grocery stores and did some major damage…for $54!!

073

That big can of oats is actually hiding a lot of stuff, ha ha. Today, I shopped at Target, Walmart and Kroger which is convenient for me because they are all right in a row on the same street (two in the same shopping center).

I found some great deals and used lots of coupons…I love trips like this!

I got hungry after all of that excitement and had a spoonful of peanut butter to hold me over. I didn’t want to eat too much of a snack because I needed my appetite good and ready for a special recipe!

I decided that tonight, I would make Mama Pea’s Vegetarian Curry. I followed her recipe pretty closely, making only a few adjustments for what I had on hand.

074

I decided to use spinach, mushrooms, potato, onion and carrots for my veggies.

And my favorite tofu!

075

Plus the rest 🙂

076

This was my first time using canned coconut milk, so I was excited (it doesn’t take much).

079

I followed her directions to the T and everything came together nicely. I started by sautéing the veggies.

077

Then I made the curry sauce, which smelled delicious.

078

All together, on top of some brown rice.

080

This dish was pretty good! I think I would like to make it spicier next time (even though my nose was still running) but it was definitely the best curry I’ve made yet.

Big thanks to Mama Pea for providing this easy recipe which I plan to make again in the near future (plus I have leftovers from tonight, yippee)!

Since Josh is currently yelling at the Texas game, let’s hear it…What is your favorite college football team?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 5, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, recipes, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You know I’m not a huge fan of curry but chickie that dindin looks amazing! Especially the gravy all over the rice yuuuuuuuums

    Ha I heart holiday mugs too…I was drinking diet soda in them at my mom’s house lol

  2. So glad you liked it! A little sirracha will spice that right up for you!!!

  3. eaternotarunner

    That curry looks awesome! I love mama pea so I might have to try it out 🙂

  1. Pingback: Snow, rain, wind « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

