Snow, rain, wind

Brrr…I really struggle this time of year because I am NOT a cold weather person at all. But so far, I’ve been able to survive and I even ran in the cold temperatures yesterday!

Yesterday we had snow and everyone freaked out but it melted quickly. Today we have rain and then the temperatures are going to shoot up and cause some major wind before dropping down to the 20’s. Gotta love Kentucky.

A hot breakfast helps on days like this…banana PB oats 🙂

001

Mid-morning, I snacked on some almonds and enjoyed my coffee in a holiday mug. I felt festive!

002

I ate lunch early but it was delicious. Creepy Wolfgang came through 🙂

For my snack, I ate half of this bar before class and then the other half before I went for a run.

005

It was pretty good. I still think the Mountain Mix is my fave.

006

After work, I layered up with two shirts, a jacket, hat and gloves and ran 3.2 miles. On Mondays, when I get that first run of the week in, it makes me realize that taking Sundays off (and sometimes Saturdays too) is such a good idea. I felt fresh and the run was really easy today.

I didn’t follow my usual plan of eating the other half of my snack after my workout, but I felt okay and ate as soon as I got home, which was earlier than I’m used to. I think my internal clock was off today!

007

Leftover vegetarian curry, even more delicious than the first time. I took Mama Pea’s advice and added sriracha to spice it up. Perfect!

Around 7:30, I had my evening snack.

011

Even though I stayed up until 10:30, I just had some tea and didn’t eat anything else after this.

I always laugh at myself for not doing this all the time but today I really listened to my hunger and just ate when I was hungry and not on my “schedule.”

And I felt good all day long!

How was your Monday?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 8, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, running, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. lutgendorffarjen

    owwww no, too much food 😉

  2. mmm… I love those mojo bars!

  3. Maybe I should start running in the evening…I wanted to go out this morning but the sun was not until 7ish and I was scared of going to the park all alone lol,,,I’m a baby lol, The next dog I get will be HUGE and will love to run with it’s mommy lol

  4. ha! i love those perfectly placed chocolate chips on the bread 🙂 reminds me of dominos hahaa

    never had one of those mojos but they sound good! will they give me extra mojo?

  5. Your blog and a couple others have really inspired me with all these mentions of running. And this weekend, I got stopped in traffic to let a huge Memphis marathon crowd pass…and I realized that even though I work out 5 days a week, I cannot run more than 2 minutes without almost hyperventilating.

    So, as of this week, I’m training to be a runner! I started a program on Sunday that builds more running time each week. Yea!! Thanks for the inspiration.

  6. YUM I seriously crave mojo bars. They are so so good!!!

    I ran yesterday in the rain! it was awful! I hate cold weather.

  7. Good for you for just following what’s right! Everything looks yummy 🙂 Naner PB oats are definitely amazing… especially when it’s cold!!

    Monday was okay, but I’m not complaining that it’s over!!

  8. Thanks for the write-up. Very interesting. My siblings and I visit Memphis every summer. We go to Graceland, Beale Street, the Sun Studio, and then to the blues clubs for the evening. Always a good time!

Leave a Reply

