Baked oatmeal

Wow, I am absolutely amazed at the response of my last post. Thank you guys so much for your honest and insightful comments.

I really enjoyed reading all of them, I think that is the most I’ve ever had on one post 🙂

For breakfast this morning, I had some Ezekiel toast with peanut butter and banana slices. What? I didn’t have oats? You’ll see why soon enough.

001

I felt like a “special” coffee today and so I did my part to support local business. Just a black coffee but so much better than Folgers today.

002

Oh yeah, and some almonds.

Like the past two days, my appetite for lunch came way early again today. Guess I’ve moved to the 11:00 club now? Even people at work are like “wow, you are early.” Ha ha.

Leftover curry rules!

003

A little while later, I had some peppermint tea and the other half of my chocolate from yesterday.

005

I ate a Clif Mojo bar before I went to go work out, but I forgot to take a picture of it. Hmm…my favorite.

The weather was insane today and like I posted on Twitter, I wasn’t sure I could handle the major winds that made it feel like it was 22 outside.

So we decided to stay in and ending up doing a really great hill workout on the treadmill, walking at various inclines for 2.20 miles. Afterwards we did some stretching which will hopefully get out legs ready for a run outside tomorrow!

So back to why I ate toast for breakfast…I made oatmeal for dinner!

Baked oatmeal that is. It was my turn to have main course for Girl’s Night Potluck this week, so I decided on a breakfast theme, since it’s my favorite.

This was the first time I had ever made it even though I’ve ordered it at restaurants before. I used this recipe but made a few modifications of my own.

006

It sure did look good. But then I got to thinking, there are five of us girls and we all eat pretty good, so I felt like I needed to make more to take with me.

007

Banana oatmeal saves the day! I cooked up two servings of oats with water and a banana (cooked with it to make it marshmallow-like) and sprinkled some brown sugar on top.

It’s funny, I think everyone might’ve liked this one better 😉

Here was my “breakfast for dinner” spread:

012

Baked oatmeal, banana oatmeal (with PB, I just can’t do it without!), potatoes with ketchup…

008

Peaches and Cascadian Farms granola (which was really good, my first time having it). And some OJ to wash it all down.

010

I went back for more potatoes and baked oatmeal. The recipe was perfect. I would definitely make it again and I can’t wait to try other variations.

We watched “Glee” and made homemade ornaments (well, the girls did, I supervised) and then called it a night. I really enjoyed all the food tonight as I am such a big fan of oats and breakfast in general.

Ah, it’s late (for me) so I’d better get to bed. Hope you had a good Wednesday.

Have you ever made or tried baked oatmeal? What did you think of it?

I really liked it but it was more like a dessert to me than a breakfast dish. I had leftovers though, so you will likely see it again 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 10, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, recipes, Snacks, Walking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m a big fan of baked oatmeal!! I use steel cut oats , let it set up in the fridge over night, cut into triangles and then bake till the corners get crispy. Usually top it with cottage cheese/yogurt and fruit Yum!!
    Love your breakfast for dinner 🙂

  2. I love the breakfast for dinner potluck! those peaches with granola look heavenly.

  1. Pingback: Playing catch up « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: My first frittata « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

