Lucky

I feel so lucky this morning. The temperatures have hit a major low here – currently 22*, which due to wind chill, really feels like 10*. I’m starting to think an outdoor run might be a crazy idea.

But we have no snow or ice conditions, thank goodness. As pretty as those are they make commuting a nightmare. It kind of irks me when people get excited about snow around here, ha ha.

Also, we had a major wind situation yesterday but my husband and I were lucky to keep our power, especially with the cold. To have heat is such a blessing. After our mission trip to Nicaragua in 2008, I try to take nothing for granted.

And also, it was not nearly the disaster we experienced last September. Thank you Lord!

Anyway, breakfast this morning was leftover baked oatmeal with peanut butter on top. This was pretty darn delicious, I ain’t gonna lie.

002

I usually wait until I get to work to have coffee but since it’s cold and I’m really sleepy, I figured why not make some at home where I can put some vanilla soy milk in it?

001

I just heard this really disturbing report about the safety standards of school lunches.

I used to eat school lunch occasionally (which grosses me out now) but I can guarantee you my future kids will be getting healthy home-packed lunches from me!

Since Josh and I eat very different diets, it’s actually a dream of mine to raise kids that appreciate veggies as much as I do 🙂

If you have kids, do you find it easy or difficult to get them to eat veggies? What are some of your “tricks”?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 10, 2009, in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Baked oatmeal?? Sounds fabulous. What a great start to the day 🙂

  2. That baked oatmeal looks so good! Unfortunately, I can’t help in the veggie area. I despise them. I have been trying to eat them for YEARS, and wish I could. Almost all make me gag!

  3. “It kind of irks me when people get excited about snow around here, ha ha.” OMG me too! I can not stand driving in the snow and I have such a fear of black ice! I wish I could be a bear and stay home all winter =)

  4. The baked oatmeal w/ pb looks so good! I’ll have to try the recipe.

    It’s really sad to learn about the quality of school lunches. I, like you, will be packing lunches for my children. (one of these days)

  5. Being the parent of vegan children I don’t find it too difficult to get them to eat veggies, because it’s what they are used to. There are of course some that are more difficult than others though.

    Some veggies, like dark leafy greens I hide in sauces, like pizza sauce and spaghetti sauce. Just throw them in the food processor and let it go until they are just the tiniest little pieces, and stir them in your sauces. Carrots are easy to blend into a creamy mush and mix in with “cheeze” sauce for mac and cheeze. Broccoli is not broccoli at our house, it’s trees, and we are giants!! And my kids will eat almost any veggie if it’s cooked into a soup, or made into a veggie burger!!

    Even with all of the tricks, I still think it’s important to present vegetables in their whole, natural state from time to time and insist that at least one bite is eaten. I believe it’s important to know how food tastes in it’s original form, and that it’s important to expose your taste buds to those foods frequently.

    I also never require more than a taste of anything, because making an issue out of food is a sure fire way to insure that your kids won’t eat. Children like to have some control over their lives, and if you provide healthy options food is one of those things you can allow them to have control over. We stock our kitchen with only healthy options, and that way they can have a choice in what they eat because I know there are no “junk food” options for them to choose.

  6. I definitely want to raise my kids to enjoy veggies as much as Andy and I do. Hopefully by serving them at every meal, they will become a normal part of life for my family.

  7. I don’t think it would be to complicated raising vegitarian/ vegan kids. Buy and cook for them according to your own beliefs and leave them to make their own choices at other houses and restaurants. This way they will get a good balance and be able to make their own decision about it when ready.

Leave a Reply

