Timing is (not) everything

As I sit here, at 10:30 in the morning, I am already really hungry for lunch. This is the third day in a row, only it keeps getting earlier and earlier (11:30, 11, 10:30). I keep wondering what I’m doing “wrong” or what I could possibly change to make it “better.” Silly me!

But I eat a decent-sized breakfast, in fact I know which ones will keep me full the longest (you’ll rarely see me eat a bowl of cereal for breakfast). I had a snack already too (usually I’m not hungry for a snack until 10). I also realize that this could just be caused by hormones and that this entire post is unnecessary, ha ha. But what the heck?

Honestly though, timing does not matter. You should eat when you are hungry and not by that clock that you fight with in your head.

On the flip side, if you are not hungry, don’t eat just because you think it is “lunch time.” Give your body a chance to catch up. I know for some who take the traditional “lunch hour” at work, it is hard to just eat intuitively but give it a shot. Eat at your desk if you can (when you are hungry) and use your lunch hour to take a walk 🙂

That being said, I do plan to try a few things to see if they make any difference:

1) Eat breakfast later – The first thing I do in the morning is feed the dog and then myself. This is usually around 6-6:15 in the morning. Sometimes I am starving and sometimes I could wait a little longer, depending on what I ate the night before. So, I’m going to start gauging my hunger in the mornings and if I’m not really hungry at 6, I’m going to go ahead and do everything else I need to first and then eat breakfast last (more like 7-7:15).

2) Eat a larger breakfast – Now, we’re not talking huge or anything but I might up my serving size of oats and/or maybe add another spoonful of peanut butter. Maybe add vegan protein powder to my oats occasionally too.

3) Eat lunch early (and have 2 afternoon snacks) – Another option may be just planning to eat lunch early if that’s what my body wants. But since I don’t eat dinner until 6 or 7 most nights, this may mean the addition of another afternoon snack (or a bulkier one).

4) Drink more water – It’s true that sometimes we feel hungry and our body really just needs water. Lately, I have slacked (just a little bit) on water because it is cold and the water I drink is cold. I think I might try some warm water with lemon and then drink my cold water with an extra sweater on.

Now that we’ve had this discussion, I’m going to go eat lunch!

How do you handle it when your body calls for an “early” meal?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 10, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I almost never eat at “tradtional” times. I’m usually starving as soon as I wake up, but am too busy getting kids ready for school to eat. I’ve found that a large glass of room temperature water and and cup of hot tea hold me over well until I get the family out the door. Then, I just eat when my body tells me to eat.

    I follow this same theory with my kids too. They eat when they tell me they are hungry. We’ve been this way since day one. I never nursed them on a schedule, always on demand, and their feeding times have continued to be on demand to this day. Unfortunately at school they have to follow a schedule that doesn’t really jive with their bodies, which leads to a ravenous after school hunger.

    I think listening to your body is the best way to sustain your energy and support your health!!

  2. ahh the never ending battle!

    when i get hungry early than “normal” I eat my snack if I have one, or if I failed completely on packing enough food to sustain me til lunch then I will eat lunch early – be it 10:30, 11, 11:30. Today was an early day with 11:30 so I’m eating the yogurt first. Then i will eat my tofu salad once I get hungry again.

    I love that I can practice intuitive eating at work and don’t have a set break – I actually don’t take a break at all and eat when I am hungry.

    I’m thinking that my period which is due on Saturday, is the culprit for my early hunger today considering I had a mini luna & pear Pre-workout and then re-fueled with a boca chik’n patty on arnold thin. sigh. gotta be the horomones! I’m usually hungrier leading up to my period anyways (hence my battle – I lost -last night w/ a bag of chex mix – oopsy)

  3. ooooooh water and tea TOTALLY help!!!!!!!!!

    Definately up your intake of water. My intake of water, until last week or so was PATHETIC for a few months since i was in transition from moving, etc. but now that I’m drinking more water I’m noticing my body CRAVES it and I notice thirst more! now I can really pay attention to my hunger cues and continue with intuitive eating (its a learning process!).

    I chug water like its my job yo

  4. I struggle with this on Sundays because I have no schedule. I wake up and want breakfast around 7am but I try to fight it until later in the morning (9ish) because if not I will be eating and early lunch and an early din din and before I know it, I am starved at night and find myself eating everything in sight. My secret is chewing gum and drinking loads of agua =)

  5. Oh and I love the pic of the cat! too cute

  6. I often have the “get hungry too early” problem too. Like right now, it’s 11:39, and I’ve been hungry for lunch since at least 11. I had a biscuit and gravy with some grapes for breakfast at 7:45. So, I snacked on a handful of cocoa roasted almonds, and that’s helped…but I’m still so ready for lunch!

    I always eat lunch at the same time — around 12:30 — because that’s my lunch break. And if I eat early at my desk, I’m afraid I’d get hungry way super early. I don’t have time to eat at night until after 7 p.m. sometimes because I go straight to the gym…so I worry about eating lunch too early. I do always have an afternoon snack when I go to the gym though, so I can make it through my workout.

  7. Such a cute picture!!! =)

    I always eat breakfast, lunch & dinner pretty much around the same times (give or take 30-60 minutes)! I try to never miss breakfast or eat it late as I find if I do I will eat much more later in the day. I also try to eat a combination of carbs, proteins & fruits.

  8. I have found lately that a green smoothie keeps me full-ish for quite awhile, then I eat my “breakfast” a little later. Then I can survive until lunch, then I try not to snack on everything in my path until dinner.

    I think the smoothie helps because of all the fiber. I used to eat more grains for breakfast, and they are good, but the veggies and fruits seem to work better for me.

  9. I think adding in protein(not too much) for every meal is what has been working for me. I also started to up the fiber everyday, because it’s suppose to level out your blood sugars and curbs the appetite.
    I used to eat a Mojo bar, a Larabar, or trail mix as snacks. But I realized I was always feeling hungry earlier or often. So I changed my eating to around 4 to 5 “complete” meals each day. Instead of a 200 calorie Larabar, I will eat say an egg white omelete with tons of veggies. Or since you are vegan, 1/2 cup of beans with veggies or a little brown rice would be the about the same caloric amount as the bar. I also always add an omelete or a shake with my oatbran in the morning.
    Hope this helps.

  10. Lynn at The Actors Diet

    it seems like my body is hungry at different times every single day. i just try to honor it all!

  11. I am never hungry when I wake up so I sort of force myself to eat something smallish. Within 200-250 cals worth of food. Then I eat my lunch early. I wish I could eat breakfast like a normal person! I usually want lunch around 11am!

Leave a Reply

