Racing in the cold

So, it’s official, I am insane!

Yesterday afternoon, I ran with Farrah for our 3.2 mile loop. Doesn’t sound too bad, but when you figure it was 22 degrees with a wind chill making it about 13, oh Lord!

But I have to say, now that I have learned how to properly layer, I was not very cold at all. Mostly just my face which warmed up when we got about half way through. We both said to each other as we went along “Wow, this is really not that bad.”

That being said, I think I am ready for my very first winter race tomorrow!

010

The race is at 9 a.m. so at least the sun will be up by then. The distance is also short, just a 4k or a little under 2.5 miles. The course is scenic and just a little hilly, not too much.

I’m really excited 🙂

I hope to prepare a post tomorrow on how I layer for the cold weather as well as a race recap. So stay tuned for those!

It’s funny, when it comes to just everyday life, I hate cold weather and much prefer the warmth of late Spring to early Fall. I like living in flip flops and capri pants. But I’ve tried to make an effort this year to enjoy the season.

On the flip side, when it comes to running, I can’t stand being hot and it impacts my performance so much. But when its cold, as long as I’m layered right, I’m good to go.

My absolute ideal running conditions: mid 50’s, calm or no wind, bright but overcast.

What about you? If you run, do you prefer hot or cold weather? What helps you “get through” either one?

Don’t worry, more food posts coming later!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 11, 2009, in running. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. OMG! I would have died in that much cold! Kudos to you for doing it!

  2. 60 – no wind, sunny. Perfect!

Leave a comment