Reindeer Romp 4k

Hey there! The race went really well this morning, considering the conditions and a few obstacles along the way. I’m very happy with it 🙂

First, a little lesson in layering. Disclaimer: This is just what I do and isn’t necessarily expert advice, although I have read a lot on the subject!

Pants – I don’t worry as much about pants although I did get a little cold “burn” on them today so I may do more about this in the future. But normally, a regular pair of running pants suffice.

006

Layer 1 – A synthetic material (mine is polyester) closest to the skin. It keeps you warm and allows the material to breathe so you aren’t soaking in sweat and thus cold. I have this one and one that is long sleeved but I decided on this one today.

007

Oy. All I can say was it was 6 a.m. I made myself smile in the rest of them!

Layer 2 – A close fitting shirt to go over top of the first one. You can use another synthetic shirt, but I like this one because it’s cotton and spandex. So it keeps me warm but it still pretty light, fits pretty close and stretches.

008

Layer 3 – Long sleeved cotton tee shirt. I’ve use a short sleeve shirt before too, but I felt like being a little extra cautious today.

009

Layer 4 – A vest of some sort. This one is thinner and breathable, but I also have one that is fleece that I use too. If you are able to keep your core warm, you will do great in the cold weather. So that is why I almost always use a vest – that and I can put stuff in the pockets if I need to.

010

Extras – A hat (or ear warmers) and gloves are a must! This is where the vest comes in handy again, if you decide to take them off during the race, they can go in the pockets.

011

Don’t forget your Road ID!

016

And last but not least, a hooded sweatshirt. What you do is take off all the layers down to the first one and then throw the nice, warm and dry hooded sweatshirt on since your other clothes are likely wet and cold!

012

I did not take an iPod today since it was a short race and I wanted to be able to hear people around me. Actually, that wasn’t hard to do because it was sooo crowded.

When we started the race, I had to walk for a minute to get through the crowd, then I started jogging. I was a little frustrated because I knew I could’ve gone faster but I took it in stride (pun intended).

Throughout the first mile, I felt as though my fingers might freeze and break off. But by the time I saw that mile marker, I was getting the feeling back and getting pretty warm all over.

There were more hills on this course than I knew about and I definitely felt like walking a few times but I just slowed down up hill and made up for it down hill.

I’m not sure what my “official” time will be but my watch said 24:00!

013

Since I had 0.8 of a second up there, I went ahead and calculated my pace based on 24:01 (for a 4k or 2.486 race).

I averaged right around 9:39 minutes/mile! That is just a mere 10 seconds slower than the pace that I had a PR with on a 5k back in May. I was really pleased, especially considering the delay at the beginning.

I felt so good afterwards 🙂

014

I actually did a short little video to talk about the race but I’m having trouble uploading it. If I get that fixed later I’ll put it here!

Edited to add: Here is the video, finally!


Hope you guys are having a great Saturday 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 12, 2009, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Congrats on your race! I don’t know how some of you do it(running in cold weather). I live in the sunshine state so we don’t have severe cold weather(high of 82 today 🙂 ). Glad you stayed warm!

  2. God I can’t wait to run my first race! I think you are one of my main motivation to finally do it in 2010…thank you chickie!

    I am so proud of you and I love the pics… I can’t wait to see the video

  3. I was thinking about you when I was getting ready to run my Jingle Bell run yesterday! Congrats on your race – how cold did it end up in Louisville? It was 23 up here in Indy!

  4. Great job, Sarah! You Romp-ed that Race!! Thanks for the tutorial on layering…I had no idea. Maybe I can venture off the TM later this winter and give it a try! I will bookmark this post so I can remember just how to do it, because I WILL forget 😉

    AND, note to self: Get a Road ID.

  1. Pingback: Hallelujah « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

