Avoiding burnout

I have a final this afternoon. I have not looked at my notes since our last day of class, which was the 7th. I probably won’t between now and 2:30.

So barring any possibility that our teacher decides to make the final open book, I don’t think I will be looking at them again any time soon.

I went to almost every single class, paid attention and took really good notes. I know that cramming does not work for me anymore. I have a high B in the class so assuming I don’t completely bomb it, I should be okay. I just don’t feel like studying!

It might be the toothache making me cranky.

But I think I am really experiencing burnout. This semester has seemed so long and even though I only have one class, I’m still just ready for it to be over. I have enjoyed the class, learning about Exercise Science has been quite interesting to me, but I am ready to be free of the time commitment. Thankfully, that will be so after today.

But I frequently experience burnout in other areas of my life too: work, food, exercise, music, etc. It just happens.

In order to keep my burnout of school from overflowing into other areas of my life (hello, Christmas!), here are some things I’m going to do:

1) Write out all the tasks I need to accomplish at work before our break (December 24-January 3) and break it down into what I need to finish each day, including a little bit of each task per day.

2) Decide what I absolutely have to buy before Christmas and do a little bit of shopping each day instead of all at once. Save the buying for those we’ll see after Christmas for later.

3) Say a polite “No thanks” to any more social commitments between now and New Year’s. You guys should see my calendar, it’s ridiculous, but I’m so grateful to have friends, family and co-workers who want to spend time with me.

4) Plan a few runs for the next couple of weeks, but also print out the YMCA calendar and take some classes over the break (can’t wait to do Cycling again this year). Don’t be afraid to go against the “plan” or take a day off if I’m too tired.

5) Smile, laugh, have fun, and RELAX!

Things I have already done:

1) Started Christmas shopping (finally, on Monday)!

2) Planned what dishes to bring to holiday and retirement parties (I’ve got three this weekend!) and Christmas Day at my parents house.

3) Naps!

Do you ever experience burnout? What do you do to prevent it or treat it?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 15, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I finished the majority of my shopping last week, and I completed about 80% of it online. I really only have a few more things to pick up! But with my seasonal job that is now full time on top of three finals this week, I am really stressed out as well. I should do a better job avoiding social commitments, I’ve added two to my calendar this week and my gcalendar is just covered in ‘ink’. What I’ve done in the past is try to take 30 mins or so to just go for a walk and calm everything down. I’m definitely taking one later tonight!

  2. I love your list and I love that you listed “Naps” ha too cute!

    I remember in college I used to pull all nighters alllll the time

  3. I think I’m burnout on Xmas shopping! I’m not even buying that much this year, but I’ve just got no time to do anything … and it sucks and it’s stressing me out. I’m ready to have all the gifts bought, wrapped, and under the tree!!!!!

  4. Stopping by your blog from Mari’s list of favorite blogs.

    You sound like a busy girl!

    I usually experience burnout a few times a year (I am a teacher). I love that I get a vacation to refresh myself and than get back into the flow of things.

Leave a Reply

