I’m alive!

Hey guys, sorry for the lull in posting. The ironic thing is that this is a food blog but I haven’t eaten hardly anything the past few days so it makes sense not to post.

If you remember, my really bad tooth pain took a turn for the worse on Tuesday and I suffered through, trying different methods and painkillers, none of which were working. I called my dentist back on Thursday and she got me a prescription for Vicodin but warned me it would not help much, that only getting this tooth out would.

So I formed a back up plan. I called a couple of places, one of which was closed for the holidays already (what the…?) and an oral surgeon who could get me in on Tuesday. Okay, Tuesday, I might make it.

NOPE!

I did okay throughout Thursday night, the Vicodin worked well and I was able to sleep a little more than I had the past two nights. I woke up in some pain on Friday morning at 6, so I took a pill and then went to eat breakfast. I could not eat. I tried to eat a banana with peanut butter on it but just looking at it made me want to puke.

Bad news. Need food to take pain pill. Already took pain pill. Can’t eat food. Uh oh.

I was so sick you guys. I stupidly went to work and managed to get down some Ginger Ale and crackers that my mom bought for me but around 10:00 it all came back to greet me. I haven’t thrown up in years! But strangely it made me feel better and I still had no pain so I thought I could manage.

Since I couldn’t eat, I was getting really fatigued and still groggy from the pills and I just felt like everything was shutting down. The pain started to come back in my mouth so I just stuck to Advil. I suffered through a meeting, trying to stay awake and then while I was at my desk I found myself blankly staring at the computer screen and not exactly writing coherent sentences anymore.

I’d had enough.

I emailed my mom to come and get me and we went directly to a place called Urgent Dental, which is like an immediate care center only for your dental needs. I had already printed off the patient forms they needed and handed them in when I walked in the door. They were so kind and the place was really swanky, with comfy chairs in the waiting room and even comfier exam room furniture!

The dentist explained everything to me that he would do and he had his dogs in the office! I had this little terrier named Sid on my lap all throughout my consultation and procedure. It really made me feel comforted. It’s funny because on the way there I thought to myself I wish I’d had my dog there. This was the next best thing šŸ™‚

Once we agreed on the course of treatment, I was done in about 10 minutes. My evil tooth has been extracted!

I wish I would’ve taken pictures of it all but after this week of hell I’ve been through the only thing I could think about was getting it done. I was really pleased with the place I decided to go. I’m probably going to go back there to have my bridge work or implant done, whichever I decide on.

I am feeling so much better!

Last night was rough though, I had to keep gauze in my mouth until it quit bleeding and that meant I couldn’t eat or drink for a long time. At the end of the day, I’d had about 1/2 sleeve of crackers (before tooth removal), 1 small cup of applesauce and a few bites of sorbet. Yikes!

Today, I was able to get some oat bran with peanut butter down which made me happy because it’s almost normal for me. I still have to eat “soft” foods for the rest of today but then after that I am back to normal, woo hoo!

I have no pain but a little swelling, mostly my top lip, and other than that it just feels weird. There’s like a big hole where the tooth used to be, ha ha.

Thank you all for all the encouraging comments and messages on Facebook and Twitter. I’m definitely on my way back up, finally!

Be back soon šŸ™‚

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 19, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. SARAH!!!! So good to see you back! I agree, how ironic about this being a food blog and no food=no post šŸ˜‰ Funny.

    What an ordeal this tooth has been for you…amazing how something so small can cause so much pain and upheaval! I’m so glad that you were able to get to someone before Tuesday and able to get it taken care of. Poor girl. Rest and heal, friend.

  2. I am glad to hear you are feeling better =)

  3. I am so glad that you are feeling some relief. I think that is is great that the dentist had his dog their. How comforting!!

    Feel better šŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Iā€™m alive! Ā« See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Dodged the bullet « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Chunky pancakes « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: Struggling to catch up « See Sarah Eat

  5. Pingback: Successful 2009 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

