Chunky pancakes

Sunday was the first full day I was able to eat real solid food again, so I took the opportunity to make a special breakfast before church.

I’d been eyeing Mama Pea’s recipe for Apple Cinnamon Pancakes for quite a while now and I finally had all the ingredients and time to make them šŸ™‚

Since I wasn’t too comfortable with “crunching” just yet, IĀ left out the choppedĀ appleĀ and usedĀ some Musselman’s chunky applesauce (the recipe already calls for applesauce so I just used that amount).

It was neat to get little bites of chunky apple that were still soft enough for me to chew in my delicate dental state šŸ˜‰

Topped it off with this bad boy…

I’ve had this brand before but it had been a while. I love almond butter but I have a hard time with the squeeze packs. I think they would be great for traveling, but at home before dawn, they are just plain annoying, ha ha.

Mmm, coffee…

I made a couple pancakesĀ for Josh too who said “They were okay.”

Someday I hope to blow him away with my cooking skills, but for now I’ll take a small victory in getting him to eat a “partially-vegan” meal — he had eggs with his.

I think next time I’ll use more cinnamon!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 21, 2009, in Breakfast, products, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I hate when I cook something which I think is fabulous and others say “okay” OKAY? Are you nuts

  2. I’ve been eyeing up the same pancake recipe but since I didn’t have apples this weekend I made pumpkin spice pancakes instead. I “veganized” the recipe I found but didn’t tell my husband. After his first bite I just waited for a “Are these vegan!” response, I get that a lot. However, he surprised me and said “oh man is this a new recipe? That’s a keeper”. Yay! You’ll have to try them, I post the recipe the other day.

  1. Pingback: Musselman’s to help the NBCF (giveaway!) « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

