Dewey’s Pizza

On Thursday, we traveled to Newport, Kentucky to see the Aquarium and spend some time down on the Levee. The weather was pretty crappy:

001

But we had a great time!

047

055

Besides the aquarium, the highlight of our trip was eating lunch at Dewey’s Pizza. Josh had seen this place online before and told me they were pretty much known for doing half and half pizzas.

 090

When you walk in, you can see the guys making the pizzas right in front of you.

089

I also thought the glasses were cute 🙂

 091

For our pizza, we decided on polar opposites, as usual for us. Opposites must really attract!

093

Our 13 inch pie was half “Killer Veggie” with no cheese and half “The Don” — lots of meat and cheese, ha ha.

097

The pizza crust was the perfect balance of being slightly doughy but still crunchy as you chewed it. The veggies and sauce were fresh, I especially loved the fresh tomatoes sprinkled on top!

095

Because it was so good and I felt comfortable doing so, we both finished our halves! Look at the grease difference 😉

096

Josh is pretty hard to impress and even he said this place ranks in his top 5 of favorite pizza. So if you ever find yourself near Newport, KY (or their other locations) we both recommend Dewey’s.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 2, 2010, in Lunch, restaurants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love going to aquariums. it’s always so fun!

    I’m just now catching up on blogs! Can’t wait to read what you’ve been up to.

  2. Hah ha! We were totally at the Levee this week end too, but yesterday, for a movie. I love Deweys!! I was in Cincy for New Years Eve, but at a local bar near the river on the Ohio side!

  3. That pizza (your side) looks so good! I love getting pizza loaded with veggies like that. Yum. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  4. I’m from Cincinnati originally and I love love love Deweys pizza. It’s SO good and the veggies are always top quality.

    Hope you had a great New Year! It looks like you had a blast at the aquarium.

  5. MM I am making a home-made pizza tonight so this just got my mouth watering for it. Now I can’t wait!

  6. Yums that pizza looks amazing! It’s good that you two can go out to eat and find a common ground

  7. I would have eaten the entire “Killer Veggie” half as well. 🙂

    Aren’t jellyfish exhibits amazing?

Leave a Reply

