Where is this going?

How is your 2010 going so far?

I have to say, the past two days for me have been amazing. I don’t know what happened but sometime over my break, I have just stepped up a level in happiness.

I am happy with my body, just the way it is. I am happy with my eating habits and exercise. I have a new perspective on my current job. Everything just feels so good right now. No changes needed.

BUT…this blog needs some changes, at least I think so. I’m still not sure that I want to keep doing the “here is what I ate all day” posts because they can get so redundant and forced.

So what am I going to do?

Obviously I want to keep blogging because I just need that creative outlet, plus I love all the relationships I have formed through this blog – I truly love you guys and don’t know what I would do without you!

But…I need a new focus. A niche. Something fresh and new. I need to find what I really want to accomplish through this blog of mine.

Any ideas?

In 2010…

  • I want to cook more.
  • I want to “invent” my own recipes.
  • I want to review more products and local restaurants or ones that I visit out of town.
  • I don’t want to post what I eat everyday unless it is a new recipe or product.
  • I will be blogging my mini marathon training experience since you guys missed out on it the first time.
  • And lastly, I hope to find out what it is I want this blog to be, finally.

I’ve also been doing a lot of pondering on my vegan diet and I definitely want to keep going, I hit the three month mark on January 1st.

But, I think I might become a little more relaxed with some things. For instance, some whole grain breads contain eggs or dairy but I would rather eat those than their enriched counterparts for the benefits of whole grains.

I am still going to keep meat, dairy and eggs out of my diet in whole form. But if a product contains traces of dairy, I am not going to worry about it if that product is something I really want or need to use.

So I’m going to remain eating a mostly vegan diet. It is important that we all find what works best for us and I feel like I finally have. I hope you do too!

If you are a blogger, what blog-related goals are you setting for 2010?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 2, 2010, in blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Love the goals you have set for the year1 This year is going on it’s 3rd day, but it’s awesome so far!

  2. Great goals! I also want to step it up on the ole blog but I’m not sure how to yet- I agree that a niche is important and it’s hard to find one in a community that can be so similar! Good luck and Happy New Year!

  3. So excited – those sound great. I’ve got a little less than 3 months here in the ville – but we will have to get together some. Compare notes – you know. But, even when I move – that is what the whole internet is for – and keeping in touch with each other. Can’t wait to see what your blog puts out this year!

  4. eaternotarunner

    Great goals! I am definitely looking to have a few more specific features on my blog….it is hard to stand out!

  5. Great goals 🙂 I’m trying to cook as well! It’s hard to motivate yourself when you’re single.

    I can’t wait to read more about your mini marathon training for tips and suggestions.

  6. Are you talking about the Indy Mini-Marathon in May? I’m running that one too!

    My goals for my blog is to post more regularly and post more about interesting food! Not just the every day stuff!

  7. I want to try new things with my blog as well. Such as creating recipes and working out more. I want to post about my workouts and get advice as I really need it!

    I also want to increase my views and comment more on all of the blogs I read.

  8. Good luck with your goals this year! I don’t have any plans for my blog. My blog is just my way of journaling on the computer instead of on paper.

  9. I often feel niche-less with my blog, and lack creative direction (which is evident in the fact I haven’t posted since New Year’s Eve! ugh). So I can relate!
    However, I enjoy following and reading your blog and you seem to always have something to talk about 🙂
    Maybe you could get more into topics you’re delving into via your classes or work?

  10. Happy New Year! I like your “what I ate today” posts but I’m sure I’d like your blog no matter what the format! As for my blog-related goals, I’m resolving to finish my cookbook this year.

    • I can’t wait to try some stuff out of your cookbook! You have really opened my eyes to even more possibilities for yummy vegan food 🙂 Thanks for the sweet comment, I don’t know yet if I’ll completely give up the “what I ate today” posts but they are hard to do on a daily basis. I just need to find what I want to do, what works for me, and stop trying to “fit in” with what the “big blogs” are doing. Ha ha.

Leave a Reply

