No backing down

I’ve had some time to think since my last post and after a few lovely comments from readers. I love you guys!

But, in regards to my vegan diet, now is NOT the time to back down. It seems I’m always looking for new goals or challenges to take on and now that it has been three months since I started eating vegan, I think that feel of things is gone. Which is why I thought maybe making some concessions was the way to go.

The problem with this way of thinking, for me, is that one concession usually leads to another and before I know it, I would be eating a lot of things I normally wouldn’t and probably not even enjoying it very much. When I was eating vegan the best way I know how, I wasn’t eating too much, I was feeling satisfied and really enjoying my food and mood. While that hasn’t completely slipped away, I can feel that turn coming if I don’t get off this road.

So…I’m going to stay the course!

I’ve already learned so much from other bloggers like Lindsey, Vegan Yogini, Vegan Crunk, Cooking for a Vegan Lover, Mama Pea and Happy Herbivore, plus tons of other vegans on Twitter. I need to keep being inspired. I also got a really awesome cookbook for Christmas from my friend Courtney called My Sweet Vegan that I can’t wait to start making some desserts out of. She knows me well 😉

I think just venting on here that I was struggling to keep up motivation helped a lot. While I’m still looking for a direction for my blog to go in, I think just having a place to organize my thoughts is such a blessing. But you all are always here for me, offering suggestions, tips and support. Thank you so much for that.

Here’s to staying vegan in 2010! 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 4, 2010, in blogging, diets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Hugs! I’m so glad you’re going to stay the course – good luck with everything. I’ll be here cheering you on! 🙂

  2. good for you for sticking to it! “Ferris Bueller you’re my hero” =)

  3. Best of luck to you! I do have some great vegan recipes that I need to try.

  4. Good luck with the veganism 🙂

    There are tons of recipes on the internet and awesome cookbooks including PETA’s vegan cookbook for college student which is perfect for smaller serving and fast recipes.

  5. Good on you! You know, starting something is always the hardest part, so don’t give up now! If you ever need inspiration get your mitts on books about animals and their treatment such as The Face On Your Plate or Slaughterhouse. Not a nice read, but definitely keeps me on the right path. 🙂 And books like The China Study are GREAT for keeping health in mind. If I didn’t have this knowledge I would find it hard too.

  1. Pingback: 4 months of vegan « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: 6 months « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

