Training Day 1

Wow.

018 (2) 

Today was Day 1 of a 16-week training program I just started for a half marathon I am running the last weekend of April.

On the schedule today: two easy miles.

Luckily today is Monday which is when our Running Club is going to be meeting regularly. There were only three of us today but that happens when the high is only 20 degrees (with a wind chill in single digits).

Still, we layered up and got out there. I really mean it when I say I wasn’t cold at all. Gotta love layers!

When we got started I wasn’t even sure I could do the 2 miles, the cold air was making it hard for me to breathe normally.

But the girls talked me into doing 3, then it turned into 4!

I finished 4 miles around 39:17, which was totally awesome for me since I doubted myself running even 2 miles to begin with.

Since the other two girls run faster than me, I really had a lot of time to think on my run. I like to use an iPod during long runs or races just to keep me going but on shorter runs, it’s nice to just be alone with your thoughts.

Funny thing too, I don’t even feel like I ran 4 miles. I stretched and fueled. Even did some stuff around the house and not even my feet are tired. We’ll see how I feel tomorrow but I’m thinking it will be good.

Day 1 : Success.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 4, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. woohoo!!! That’s awesome Sarah!

  2. Congrats! I actually am starting to train for a marathon myself! Yesterday was my first day of training. Are you following any kind of regime? I found some stuff online that I think I’m going to try to follow. I am by NO means a runner… but I have eight months to become one. I admire your 4 miles! Can’t wait til I can do that and be ALIVE after!

    • Good for you! Yes, I have a specific program that I am using. I always leave room for adjustments though just because life can sometimes get in the way but I’ve found that basically following a program is really beneficial to my training.

  3. YOU ROCK!!! Don’t you LOVE it when you completely blow away your goals?! Proud of you girl! You are going to totally ROCK that 1/2!!!

  1. Pingback: Dessert for breakfast « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Feeling official « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

