Feeling official

Today is Day 2 of my half marathon training program.

In barely 20 degree weather, Farrah and I did an easy 2 miles and then came back to the gym for some ab work.

Even though I wasn’t feeling sore or anything from our 4 mile run yesterday, I definitely got tired earlier during this 2 miler, so now I get why you alternate your mileage 😉

After work, we went to a meeting for the Jewish Sports Medicine Derby Festival Healthy Lifestyle Training Program.

006

There were a panel of experts who discussed training, nutrition, shoes, and everything else you can think of when entering a running program.

 008

Even though I disagreed with some of the things the dietician said, I still felt all official listening to tips about hydration, carb loading and whatnot. I’ll discuss this in detail more later.

We also found out the course has changed a bit, starting and ending in new places. I’m actually happy about this because I think it’s going to make it feel like a new race (I’ve done this one twice before).

Lastly, I scored a free technical fabric shirt and some training info too:

007

This is going to sound nuts but as I was paging through that booklet you see above, I glanced at the marathon training program too. And I thought it looked easy? So I guess this is me saying that maybe NEXT YEAR, I’ll run the whole marathon?!

But right now I want to focus on training for this half. I also have several shorter races coming up between now and then. So here we go!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 5, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. How exciting you’re training for a half! I can’t wait to read all about it!!!

  1. Pingback: Smoothies in winter? « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Back in training mode « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

