Smoothies in winter?

Even though I woke up to 12 degrees outside this morning, I made a smoothie for breakfast!

001

This smoothie contained 1 cup of rice milk, 1/2 cup frozen pineapple and 1 tbsp Sun Warrior protein powder. Unfortunately it was not very good but it’s all about figuring out the right combo.

The mini bagel with White Chocolate Wonderful was just lovely 🙂

Mid-morning, I snacked on some carrots and salsa. Can you tell I’m trying to use stuff up at home?

002

I didn’t take photos of lunch again because like yesterday, it’s just boring and today’s lunch was a carbon copy of last night’s dinner.

Before our run today, I snacked on a Larabar that happened to be the same color as the shirt I was wearing today 😉

003

After our run and on the way to a meeting, I knew it would be a while before I ate again so I tried these Luna snacks from my pantry.

004

These were not that good! I really like the pomegranate flavor but I just ate these for the calories. I will not get this flavor again.

After our half marathon training meeting, I came home to a new frozen pizza to try. No cheese!

009

It seemed a little skimpy on the veggies at first.

010

But looking at these pictures makes it seem like there was more on there than I initially noticed.

011

While I waited for the pizza to cool off, I started on a nice glass of iced tea. Summer, are you here yet?

013

For dinner, I had two slices of pizza with some broccoli and Smart Balance Light.

This meal hit the spot! I loved the crunchy crust of the pizza (I cooked mine an additional 2 minutes than the box said to do).

012

Take a good look…this is tomorrow’s lunch, ha ha ha.

It’s almost bedtime over here so I’d better sign off. Hope you had a great day, GOOD NIGHT 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 5, 2010, in Breakfast, Dinner, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Major props to you for just waking up in that cold! 🙂

    I like your purple shirt!

  2. I wanted to make a green monster smoothie this morning but I wussed out and made hot tea. It’s just so cold. Bravo though to you for going for it!

  3. I ❤ Kashi cheeseless pizzas!!!!!!!!

    I think that brown rice protein powder SUCKS. I can't figure out how to make any of my smoothie/drinks taste good. All my drinnks taste amazing and then I add the powder and I can taste the powdery earthness of it. yuck. maybe i just dont like protein powders?? thankfully my friend is going to take it off my hands 🙂

  4. I am with you, I love the idea of protein powders but NOT the taste! I bought some Spirutein powder that I have yet to try. The notes on the package say to blend it in a blender vs. mixing by hand, which makes me think the texture will most definitely be unpleasant.

  5. eaternotarunner

    That pizza looks so good! I’m gonna have to try it out

  6. I have been wanting to try that Sicilian pizza, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Looks delicious! I can’t imagine what 12 degrees feels like, I’m here complaining about the 30’s. 🙂

  7. I heart the Sicilian Veggie pizza! For extra veggies, I add spinach, mushrooms, and black olives. It super yum!

  1. Pingback: Snow and smoothies « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

