Cross-training day

Thanks for all the comments on my training program post!

I’m excited that so many of you are also training for races right now. I’m also inspired that a few of you are trying running for the first time. Woo hoo!

Yesterday, I decided to take a cross-training day. I ran on Monday and Tuesday both, so I thought it would be a good idea to give my legs a rest and get in a good weight training session at the same time 🙂

Sarah’s Basic Weight/Strength Training Routine

  • Chest presses – 15 lb dumbbells, 2 sets of 15
  • Shoulder presses – 10 lb dumbbells, 2 sets of 15
  • Bicep curls – 10 lb dumbbells, 2 sets of 15
  • Tricep extensions – 10 lb dumbbell (1), 2 sets of 15
  • Squats – 15 lb bodybar, 2 sets of 15
  • Lunges – 15 lb body bar, 1 set of 15 (each leg)
  • Calf raises – 15 lb body bar, 1 set of 25
  • Lots of abs **

**For abs, I do a variety of exercises both for the “main” abs (rectus abdominus) and the obliques (aka “side” abs). Most of the time, I do 25 repetitions of each exercise and then sometimes I just do each one for a minute or until the muscle fatigues. I get bored really easily with abs (which is why mine aren’t in great shape!) so it’s important for me to switch it up and do different moves and sets pretty much every time.

What do you do on cross-training days?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 7, 2010, in weight training, workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am new to cross training days. I love your workout! I have been using my fitness coach to formulate my workouts until I can increase the intensity. Just trying to get back into the swing of things!

Leave a Reply

