First potluck of 2010

For those of you fairly new to my blog, you might not know that every Wednesday, my girlfriends and I have a Girl’s Night Potluck, where we take turns bringing different dishes (main course, side or dessert) and spend time together usually watching movies but sometimes doing other things like playing Wii and whatnot.

This week was the first potluck of 2010…when I wrote out the title I nearly put 2009! Guess I’m still not used to the new year yet 😉

For our main course this week, Beth made Garlic Linguine with tomatoes. She made a few adjustments to the original recipe (added sea salt and more EVOO) and it was delicious! It was also nice to just have a little pasta on my plate with other things and not a big heaping bowl of it. My stomach thanked me too 🙂

On the side, we had some mixed steamed veggies (pretty much my favorite) and some Italian bread (I ate another unpictured piece). I also made a side salad with balsamic vinaigrette (Market Pantry brand from Target — appears to be vegan, far as I can tell).

In lieu of dessert (non-vegan Key Lime pie), I had a nice glass of white wine, which went great with the Italian theme to me (I’m not a professional wine pairer, ha ha).

This was the Beringer Pinot Grigio and it was quite good. I checked the handy Barnivore site and Beringer is listed as not vegan friendly. But that is something I am still working on and trying to figure out if I’m going to follow. I think for now, I won’t worry if it’s something someone else bought (in this case) but perhaps at home, I’ll make more of an effort to get vegan friendly wines.

I also kept up with my 9:00 “stopping” time to give my stomach adequate time to settle before I go to bed. This has also helped tremendously with nighttime/mindless snacking. Three days strong!

We ended up watching the People’s Choice Awards and had lots of laughs. We are really blessed that we can get together every week. Girl’s nights are the best!

Do you do anything special with your girlfriends on a regular basis?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 7, 2010, in Dinner, potluck and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. aww i love your wednesday night potlucky traditions! how fun is that 🙂 so i’ll be there next week..

  2. Awww, I love our potluck nights too! 🙂 Always a fun time!

Leave a Reply

