Hallelujah

Finally, a decent forecast!

Now all the snow can melt and I can get back to my Mini Marathon Training Program!

Yes, it’s still only 30 and it might snow tonight but I don’t care. It’s a vast improvement from the past few days. The last time I actually ran was on Friday (treadmill), so I am anxious to get out there. I’ll be all layered up and ready to go in an hour or so 🙂

Thanks to a lab I did for one of my classes this semester, I have come to realize that weather can sometimes be a barrier for me, meaning that it can get in the way of me and my intended exercise. It’s pretty much my only barrier, but it’s still there.

While I feel that I have now overcome exercising in cold temperatures, dangerous snow really put a damper on my workout efforts this weekend. Since I don’t have a treadmill at home, on the weekends I am at the mercy of Mother Nature as far as running goes. I feel like I did not do anything all weekend!

Hopefully, we won’t get any more snow storms like this one, but if we do, I need to be prepared with a back up plan. This may mean not running on some Saturdays but at least I will have an activity to keep me occupied.

Speaking of Saturdays…this coming Saturday, I am running a 5K! I almost forgot!!

Sing it with me: “We’re having a heat wave….” ha ha ha.

What are your barriers to exercise? Weather, time, people, energy…?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 11, 2010, in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Freezing cold – I get bored on the treadmill, but Tina’s workouts are helping me there ( doing one of her’s tonight, though not as fast).
    I think I’ll hit Seneca on Thursday – since that is the only day I don’t work till 7pm somewhere or another!

  2. eaternotarunner

    I am a huge wimp about running in the cold!

  3. Ohhh good luck with your training! I was so happy When I saw our forcast there was no snow!

    I just found a 4 mile race in May! I am pretty excited =)

  4. Oh I’m so jealous! I think 40 would feel like a heat wave and put me into shock… lol. Good luck on the training!!!

  5. I am such a picky runner! I have a very narrow range of temps in which I will run outside! And also with 3 kids at home, the treadmill is just about the easiest way for me to get a run in.

    Ahhh, it got so warm here today! 45!!! Yay for the heat wave! lol

Leave a Reply

