Being Good to my Belly

Before I was vegan, I used to eat dairy yogurt (mainly Greek) almost every day. One of the reasons I did this was to get the benefit of probiotics, which aid in digestive health and immunity.

While I do occasionally eat non-dairy yogurt, I was pleased to find another vegan-friendly alternative to get probiotics in my life!

001

The kind folks at GoodBelly sent me some free coupons to try out their product. I chose the mango flavor because it sounded the best to me.

I expected it to be really sweet like orange juice, almost too sweet if you know what I mean. If I drink orange juice these days, I have to dilute it.

But it wasn’t too sweet at all! I was also impressed with the texture. It seemed almost “thicker” than juice if that makes any sense. And it actually helped fill me up.

I had my first glass with a smaller serving of oatmeal.

002

In addition to probiotics, this GoodBelly drink contains several other vitamins and minerals. My only complaint is the high sugar content (21 g per 8 fluid ounces). But it’s still worth trying.

I really liked the mango but I am interested in trying out some of the other flavors (and the “shot” size) and I highly recommend them to my friends who don’t like yogurt!

I also think I might try some in a smoothie 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 14, 2010, in Breakfast, products and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hello Sarah!

    Thank you so much for reviewing our GoodBelly Probiotic Fruit Drink. I’m part of the GoodBelly team here in Boulder, and thought I’d let you know that we have a 12 Day Challenge that your followers might be interested in signing up for… They can try GoodBelly for 12 days, and if they don’t experience a noticeable improvement in their digestive health, then we will offer a full refund on the 12 day supply. If your followers are interested in trying out our products, here is the way to sign up for the challenge (and they will receive coupons via email as soon as they do): http://www.goodbelly.com/community/12-day-challenge.

    If anyone has any questions, please have them contact Mary at info@goodbelly.com.

    Thank you, and be well!
    Ariel

  2. I am not at all a fan of yogurt – yuck! I wanted to include probiotics in my diet though and since the Vidazorb kids chewables helped our little boy so much with his allergies and Eczema – I knew I had to try the adult ones. I love them! They are great and I especially love that I don’t have to refrigerate them and can carry them around with me! I am glad you liked this one so much because probiotics are incredible and from everything I have read – essential!

  3. We have oatmeal and milk most mornings. However, our raw milk supplier is temporarily not available so we aren’t having milk. Do you think this would be good in oatmeal instead of milk? Is it sold in grocery stores or a specialty health food store?

Leave a Reply

