How’s that yoga challenge going?

On Tuesday, I declared that I was starting a yoga challenge for myself. I promised to do yoga 4 times a week in order to receive the many benefits practicing yoga offers, especially as I train for my half marathon.

I have done two sessions so far, one yesterday morning and one this morning. Both have been in the form of a Yoga Download 20-minute free class.

Yesterday, I did Gentle Hatha Yoga #1, which I had done before but it had been quite some time.

I really liked this one because it contained two of my favorite poses: tree pose and half pigeon pose. During half pigeon, I really noticed how much flexibility I have lost from not practicing. I used to be able to lay all the way forward and now I must stay on my forearms. My hips are soooo tight. I will definitely do this program again!

I really felt awake and relaxed on the way to work and just got to ease into my day. This makes me think I might have to make this a regular (daily) thing eventually.

Today, I tried to use Exercise TV and started a program with Shiva Rea that sounded pretty easy. All it took was a really hard lunge and the word “chatarunga” and I turned it off. I like those kind of yoga workouts but not first thing in the morning and not on running days. So I may go back to that one eventually.

I ended up doing Gentle Hatha Yoga #2 from Yoga Download. It was a slide show program, which I found so much more helpful than the audio + PDF file.

This one had a lot of great leg stretches and strength poses like the Warrior series and was a little more challenging (to me) than Gentle Hatha #1. I will definitely be keeping this one in my rotation as well.

I plan to do another download tomorrow morning and then on Saturday after my 5k, I am finally going to try and make it to a class taught by my friend Carrie at Eternal Health Yoga! 🙂

Have you ever used Yoga Download? What is your favorite class?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 14, 2010, in challenges, yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Awesome progress, 2 out of your 4 yoga workouts are completed!
    This post makes me want to do childs pose on my office floor… wait, I think I just may do that 🙂 It will definitely help my sore shoulders get some relief from being hunched over the computer all day!

  2. I don’t remember, but I did really like it. I’m going to have to wait till I get to Raleigh in April to continue with them because my wireless is gone at home, so I can’t get it. But, I’ve been yoga-less just due to time this week (may squeeze in some after our Seneca tonight), which will be great. I just did a few poses last night before going to bed and loved it. Oh, how good it is for our bodies!

  3. eaternotarunner

    I’ve never done yoga at home (only at the gym) but I would like to start! I’ll have to check out yoga download….

  4. gentle hatha 2 is my fav! such a good one and if i can remember because it’s been so long i believe full wheel is in that one and that’s a major reason why i love! keep up the great work girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

