Vegan Corn Chowder

On Wednesday night, I had the girl’s over for our weekly potluck dinner!

I decided to make a Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder recipe from allrecipes.com with just one substitution: I used vegetable stock instead of water + bouillon.

008

By the way, this is how I cook, ha ha!

007

Saves paper, right?

First I got the veggies going in the skillet.

009

While I was chopping the carrots, I “accidentally” gave one to Suzie!

010

Eventually it all started to look like soup.

011

It never quite thickened up how I would’ve liked it to, but it tasted pretty good!

016

I think next time I will use less liquid and I think I’d like to add some more spices. But it was a fun recipe to try, I had never made corn chowder before, vegan or otherwise!

What fun recipes have you tried lately?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 15, 2010, in Dinner, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I loved those hummus pancakes – so good! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing – and you know, I do the same thing. Bring my baby laptop into the kitchen!

  2. I made fun flourless chocolate cookies last night, they were too good!

  3. Mmm…love corn chowder! And I wish my dog would eat carrots. He just sniffs them and walks away. Instead, he likes to beg for the meat on my boyfriend’s plate.

  4. Looks good! I made a vegetarian (I think vegan actually) chili last week and it also needed some thickening. Maybe more cooking time or more beans? As long as it tastes good though! – Katie

  5. That’s how half of my baking is done- with the laptop on the counter by where my mess of ingrediants is… It’s awesome until your hands are covered in butter or something equally bad and the laptop battery dies…

  6. This looks fantastic!!! I am in a huge soup phase right now so I will have to add this recipe to the list.

  7. Looks great, I love a creamy vegetable soup.
    Suggestion for increased creaminess: I checked out the recipe and you should try whisking in the flour before adding the 2 cups soy milk. This is a trick that works on pretty much all sauces, gravies, etc. Or, make your “roux” with one cup of the soy milk and whisk with the flour, and then pour into the soup mixture, afterwards slowly adding the last cup of soy milk. Let me know if it works!

  8. That’s how I sometimes cook…. then I get worried about get stuff on my computer. That Vegan Corn Chowder looks so good! I may have to try that!

Leave a Reply

