Sapporo

After my nearly 4 mile run this afternoon, I was hungry when I got home so I snacked on some carrots & hummus to hold me over until our dinner.

003

When we arrived at Sapporo, I was instantly impressed with the layout of the place. I kept commenting on how “cute” it was, which really isn’t the best description. What can I say, I didn’t study interior design.

007

The place is laid out so that you can choose between sitting at a regular table (as we did), the Sushi bar (pictured above) or the hibachi grill.

There are two locations of Sapporo in Louisville but they are not a chain. Apparently, they are locally owned and operated. Even cooler.

Tonight, I actually used my chopsticks!

004

For starters, I had a house salad. The dressing I wasn’t too sure about, but I’d had it before and am pretty sure it doesn’t contain dairy. This recipe put my mind at ease 😉

005

The dressing was not “creamy” by any means and ended up dripping off a lot of pieces, which was fine by me since it was practically swimming in it. I think I’ll try the cucumber salad next time.

For my sushi, I ordered one avocado roll and one cucumber roll. I haven’t eaten a lot of sushi in my time, especially not since I went vegan, but I did remember that one roll is not enough to fill me up!

006

Two was perfect! I really liked both of these but I think the avocado was my favorite. Next time I’m going to try the vegetable roll and asparagus roll which also sounded really good.

I’m pretty impressed with the price too, I expected it to be much more expensive. For my dinner, before tip, it was $9.81.

Now I am sipping on chamomile tea and winding down for the day. What a good one it has been!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 19, 2010, in Dinner, restaurants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh,maybe we can go there some time. I love sushi. Asahi is a great place, but I’ve heard great things about Sappora too! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed yourself!

Leave a Reply

