Yoga Challenge: Week 2

Last week, I began a challenge to do yoga 4 times a week.

Last week, I did three Yoga Download programs: Gentle Hatha #1, Gentle Hatha #2 and Core Yoga #1. I really enjoyed them all: the first two were more stretching and relaxing, while the third was more challenging and made me aware of my core all day long!

Then on Saturday, I attended a Hatha class taught by my friend Carrie at Eternal Health Yoga. I was really impressed with the place and plan to go back soon 🙂

So, Week 1 of the yoga challenge was a huge success!

This week, I plan to do more download programs, likely more challenging ones this time. I was a little sore after the class on Saturday that it made me want to take it up a notch on my home practice!

Do you do yoga? What is your preferred method – at home, in a class setting, etc?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 19, 2010, in yoga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well, you already know I do yoga!! I love my home practice, but I also like to attend classes when I can as well. I love the group energy that you get from a class, and I also love that I still always learn new alignment techniques, etc.

    My favorite thing about my home practice is that it’s intuitive. I never use videos, etc. I always practice from my heart and what results always leaves me feeling so complete! Of course, it took me many years to get to a point that my home practice could be self lead like this.

    As an instructor I think it is extremely important to attend a class as often as possible if for nothing else than to receive adjustments and check your alignment. It’s easy to get stuck in a bad pattern of alignment when practicing with videos and without the alignment the true benefits of yoga are lost. I also like that in a class setting you are reminded of your breath very frequently, because it is something that, especially as a beginner, you tend to forget while practicing with a video. And, if you aren’t doing the breathing you aren’t doing yoga!

    I’m proud of you for keeping up this challenge. Yoga is so beneficial in so many ways. While it’s great for exercise and for physically taking care of your body it’s much more than that, and it’s just as important to take care of your spirit!!

    Namaste Sarah!!

    • Thanks Carrie! I really can’t wait to get my own practice to that level. I’d much rather put on some music and do my own thing instead of listening to some lady on a video 😉

      I agree about the classes too, I really need that kind of energy and guidance.

  2. I really liked the classes I would take at the gym I worked at. Now, I do a video or yoga download in my living room. I like that more – because I can concentrate more – not just focusing on other people! 🙂

Leave a Reply

