Yoga for weight loss

This morning, I did the Yoga For Weight Loss #1 program from Yoga Download. It was my first video class!

While I am not doing yoga to lose weight, I do see how the flow of poses in this particular program can really warm up the body! I wasn’t sweating by any means, but I definitely felt like I got a mini-workout.  Some of the poses were quite challenging for me too (knee to nose comes to mind).

Since this is my first time trying a Yoga Download video, I decided to list some of the pros and cons of video yoga programs.

Pros

  • You can see the postures being done and can correct yourself if necessary
  • Easier than scrolling through a PDF while trying to do yoga
  • Being able to put a face with the voice of the instructor

Cons

  • Having to look up from a pose to see what’s going on (if I’m just going to listen, I might as well do audio only)
  • There was some skipping and muffled audio at certain points
  • Feeling distracted, unfocused

I think from now on I will go back to the audio programs. There are certainly plenty to choose from.

I also think it might be a good idea to study and familiarize myself with the poses of the program first, that way I am not glancing at a screen or a PDF on my computer. That can be very distracting, which takes away from the intention of yoga.

Do you do yoga videos? What do you like or dislike about them?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 19, 2010, in yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are so devoted and so disciplined. I want to be like you when I grow up. Keep up the good work.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Yoga for weight loss « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: It’s all in the hips « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

