It's all in the hips

This morning, I chose to do Hip Opening Flow #2 from Yoga Download.

Taking my own advice from yesterday, I just turned on the sound and did not pay any other attention to the computer screen. I found this to be extremely helpful in concentrating on my practice!

Whether I am running or walking regularly, my hips have the tendency to get very tight and therefore a program focusing on hips is just what I need. This particular class I downloaded quite some time ago so I’m not sure that it is still available on the site.

My favorite things about this class were the pigeon poses (obviously) and the fact that I am “getting used to” the chatarungas (low push up) which I usually dislike very much. This is because my upper body is still not as strong as I would like it to be, but that just means I need to do these more often, not avoid them 😉

For all you yogis out there, what pose is your favorite and what pose is your most challenging?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 20, 2010, in yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The crow is definitely my most challenging – but I love it when I can get it.
    I think I like the flow from plank, upward dog, to downward dog. Good stuff. Looking forward to the 6th.
    Also, I did yoga last night 20 minutes and I could tell in my shoulders I hadn’t done it in a while. Tonight is the full hour! 🙂 Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

