My own flow

This morning for my yoga practice, I decided to go with what I was feeling.

I wanted to be free from any computers, videos, strangers voices. I wanted to do an easy 20 minutes of yoga on my own!

So I lit some candles, turned off the overhead light and turned on the Meditation channel (music) on my digital cable box. I also set my cell phone alarm for 20 minutes ahead so that I wouldn’t fall asleep during Shavasana and be late for work šŸ˜‰

I started out on the floor and did several seated poses before coming up to downward facing dog. I stayed in each pose for a few breaths, trying to decide where I was going to go next while I was taking the time to breath in each one. It worked pretty well but toward the end I sort of lost my train of thought.

When I was done, I felt like I had accomplished my task: feeling relaxed andĀ invigorated at the same time. My flow was mostly stretching and not much strength since I did a weights workout yesterday. I also incorporated my personal favorite poses – half pigeon, tree pose (pictured below)Ā and supta baddha konasana.

In February, I have an appointment with my friendĀ Carrie to show me and my other friend Kim some proper alignment in order to get more from our home practice.

I look forward to learning more from her and developing my own flow, becoming less reliant on audio/video programs. Namaste.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 21, 2010, in yoga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

