Sparkpeople 20-minute Dumbbell Workout

Yesterday, my workout plan called for running 1 mile and then completing some form of weight training.

Since I am a big fan of weight training, I know plenty of moves I can do but I have found it helpful to have a “program” to follow to make sure I cover all my bases and get the most out of my precious workout time.

This time, I decided to use the Sparkpeople 20-minute Dumbbell Workout which I printed off my computer before heading to the gym. I warmed up and ran 1 mile on the treadmill (easy in 12:00) and then got to work!

There were many things I liked about this routine, especially the time frame because it fit in perfectly with how much time I had left to work out. But there were some drawbacks as well.

The following is just my personal opinion:

Good

  • Time efficient
  • Hit every muscle group (chest, biceps, triceps, back, shoulders, legs, abs)
  • Included ab work (seated torso twist rocked!)
  • Stretching included

Not-so-good (and solutions)

  • I didn’t use enough weight (7.5 lbs, use more next time)
  • Crunches not challenging enough (add more reps)
  • The double leg lifts hurt my hip (try on bench instead of floor or switch to single leg)
  • Back extensions are really hard to do on floor (use balance ball)

Do you weight train? Follow a detailed program? What do you like or dislike about it?

I would definitely use this one again but make the modifications I mentioned above. I could also see myself doing a longer version of this with more than one set of the exercises.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 21, 2010, in running, weight training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

