First 5 miles

I have run five miles before, but today is the first time I have ran five miles since I have officially been in training for my mini marathon.

At first, I couldn’t decide between mapping out a five mile path around my neighborhood or driving to a local park, but since I had to make a trip to Whole Foods anyway, it made more sense to drive to Seneca and enjoy the scenery!

IMG_8427

(Source)

The track is 1.2 miles long, so I ran it 4 times and then another quarter mile to get over the 5 miles I had planned.

The run was really reassuring. It was a little slower than I would’ve liked but for right now, I need to focus more on distance than time. Just knowing I can run 5 miles is pretty awesome.

  • Distance: 5.05 miles
  • Time: 52:34
  • Pace: 10:25/mile

When I first got to the park, I had to use the bathroom (thank goodness I chose a park and not my neighborhood, which would’ve been really far away from my house) so that gave me a good warm up walking over there.

But when my feet hit the ground, running felt so natural again. It felt almost easy. After the difficult time I had on the treadmill on Thursday, this was just what I needed.

During mile three, I started to have some lower back pain but it was minor and went away pretty quickly.

Other than that, I had no complaints. No knee, calf or other discomfort. No stomach upsets or side stitches. Easy breathing.

It was an awesome run!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 23, 2010, in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just got back from Seneca. I just walked 2 laps. But, even being sick, it felt good to get out in the fresh air. I may do some upright yoga – it still hurts to have my head low…pressure! 🙂

  2. Go Sarah! Sounds like a great run…and a well placed bathroom at that! Awesome, girl 🙂

  1. Pingback: Party time « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

