Breakfast and dinner

That is seriously what I should change the name of this blog to, ha ha.

For some reason, once again, I managed to just take pictures of breakfast and dinner.

I started this very cold, icy day with a smoothie! Brrr…

002

Contains: 1 cup of plain soy milk, 1/2 cup frozen pineapple and 4 frozen strawberries. Yum!

I also had an English muffin with PB&J to go with.

001

Oh, wait! I forgot about the morning snack 😉

I ate a HUGE carrot and tried a new hummus: Athenos artichoke and garlic. I loved it. Hummus can do little wrong by me though.

003

Lunch was leftover spaghetti. It was good but you’ve seen it. I love leftovers, it really helps stretch my ingredients plus saves money too.

I ate a Larabar after my workout today but it too escaped my lens.

For dinner, I made yet another version of Mama Pea’s roasted chickpeas. Her original recipe was pumpkin spice and I feel like I’ve messed around with it enough to list the ingredients on here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • A few shakes of curry powder
  • A few shakes of cumin
  • A shake or two of salt
  • 1 tbsp Thai Kitchen sweet red chili sauce

Drain and rinse the chickpeas. Add all the other ingredients with them in a bowl and then stir until the chickpeas are coated. Put in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, stirring around once during cooking.

Voila!

004

I think these were my favorite so far. I like to combine sweet and spicy flavors I’ve noticed. But I love experimenting with different flavors. It keeps roasted chickpeas interesting!

The rest of my plate contained mixed veggies, a pita pocket and Smart Balance Light.

I was supposed to go to yoga tonight but I ended up staying home and getting a lot of work done including homework (taking online classes makes me forgetful sometimes), cleaning, and baking for tomorrow night (you’ll see soon).

I just snacked on half an English muffin with PB and chocolate chips 🙂

010

Thank goodness for tea and 9:00 cut off times. I totally could’ve eaten another one of these!

Do you invent recipes or try out ones that others have come up with?

I love following others’ recipes but I can’t wait to make my own someday.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 26, 2010, in Breakfast, Dinner, leftovers, Lunch, recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I usually use others recipes for an idea and make changes to suite my tastes.

  2. agreed-hummus is so dependable!

  3. I am always creating new recipes and just wing it.

  4. oh my… that carrot! I started out following recipes and that led to being able to create my own or at least, improvise a bit!

  5. You know me, a little of both. I think I’ll try this one tonight since I have some chickpeas (cooked in the fridge) to use up! 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration. I saw them this morning and knew I needed to do something with them!

  6. I’ve got to try roasted chickpeas, every time I see them on a blog they look SO good!

  7. I love the roasted chickpeas! I’ll throw them on or into almost anything I’m cooking as a finishing touch! Yum…

  8. did you see her version of lemon-rosemary roasted chickpeas? I can’t wait to try that one!

  9. I really need to get on the roasted chickpea band wagon!

  10. I love your blog! I can’t resist coming up/changing recipes. I like trying anything new though!
    I don’t know how people can hate leftovers. I LOVE them, and I always make extra so I have food for the next few days. You’re right, it really helps stretch your dollar!

  11. your smoothie is a gorgeous pink! I love pink!

    and i love pb.

    Hummus is always a winner in my book!

  12. Breakfast and dinner? It’s be an easy blog name to remember 🙂

    The chickpeas look good! I love how versatile the beans are. Heck, I made blondies with them yesterday!!

  1. Pingback: New phone! « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Camera vs. Blackberry « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

