The treadmill is my homegirl

This morning we were hit with some winter weather that made driving conditions less than desirable. Therefore, I was not about to risk falling and injuring myself on a run outside today.

You may remember my post from last week about how the treadmill frustrated me. Well, I’m happy to report that Ms. Treadmill and I have hugged it out.

I had an easy two miles on the training schedule today and I did just that, after a 5 minute warm up and followed by a few minutes of cool down.

  • Distance: 2.0 miles
  • Time: 21:45
  • Pace: 10:53/mile

Like I said in that previous post, I have to expect my treadmill times to be slower, unless I am doing a speed workout. By keeping at this pace, I was able to finish the workout painlessly and in a good state of mind.

Did the treadmill change? No. I changed my attitude and adjusted my program as necessary.

I also did a quick weight training workout after I stretched really good.

  • Chest presses – 12.5 lb weights, 2×15
  • Shoulder presses – 10 lb weights, 1×15; 7.5 lb weights, 1×15
  • Bicep curls – 12.5 lb weights, 1×15; 10 lb weights, 1×15
  • Tricep overhead extensions – 12.5 lb weight (1), 1×15; 10 lb weight, 1×15
  • Leg extension machine – 35 lbs resistance, 2×15
  • Leg curl machine – 50 lbs resistance, 2×15

I’ve been slacking on my yoga the past few days and had planned on attending a class tonight taught by the beautiful Carrie, but I have so much on my plate right now.

I’m hoping to either do a relaxing home practice tonight or start up again in the morning.

Are there any fitness challenges or road blocks that you have overcome recently?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 26, 2010, in running, weight training, yoga. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good job on your reconciliation with the treadmill… I haven’t yet (unless it’s speed/interval work)I get soo bored… I rather go outside in the freezing Ohio temperatures 🙂

  2. Way to go, girl! Glad you and Ms. Treadmill made up 😉

  1. Pingback: Breakfast and dinner « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Not just 2 miles « River City Fitness

  3. Pingback: My old “friend” « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

