Starting a new month

Happy February 1st!

I love the beginning of new months because it always makes me want to start a new challenge. I’ve actually had something brewing for a while now and I feel like it’s finally time to let the cat out of the bag, so to speak.

Disclaimer : The following is about me only and should not be used to determine your healthy weight or how you feel about yourself!

I haven’t posted about weight in a long time. I’d noticed a lot of other bloggers have posted on their recent weight struggles, so I guess I’m joining the club. But really, their discussions have inspired me to finally talk about what’s been going on “behind the scenes” here for a while.

As most of you know, in 2007 I lost 70 lbs. My heighest weight ever was the year after I got married (2006). I remember weighing myself and seeing 225 show up on the screen. I was absolutely stunned. I also remember the day (March ’08) that I got on the scale and saw my lowest weight ever, 144. I was stunned again, but in a good way that time.

I have been far from that number for a while now. I’ve gone through my share of ups (hitting 160 in July ’09) and downs with weight the past year or so, but I’ve managed to maintain in the low 150’s for a while now. I think I needed to rest here for a while, to get comfortable in my skin and to change my attitude toward my own body image and where I thought I needed to be.

I have done lots of experimenting in my diet this past year too, including lowering my sugar intake, going back and forth with carbs, introducing new foods, and finally making a decision to try a vegan diet, which I have now stuck with officially for 4 months today!

At this moment, I am the happiest, healthiest and most confident I have ever been. I have learned quite a bit about myself over these past three years and I really feel like I have this blog, other bloggers, and all you readers to thank for a lot of that.

Because of this, I’m ready to get moving again. I’m ready to go to the next level.  Not in a negative “ugh, I need to lose weight” way, but more of a “hey, let’s see where this goes” way.

I’m not going to fret over anything because even if nothing changes, I’m perfectly happy the way I am, like I said before. This is just a challenge I am issuing to myself to see where it takes me.

My original goal in 2007 was to get down to 135 lbs. I don’t know if that is even attainable, since I’ve never been there. But based on my height (5’4″), frame (medium), age and activity level it seems to be. I know BMI isn’t the best thing to go on but I feel like I should mention that for my height, build and age, 150’s is considered overweight, just on the borderline. I really don’t have that much muscle 😉

However, I’m not going to focus so much on getting to any certain number as I am making sure that I’m at a more “appropriate” weight for me. I am healthy now and I am happy now. But achieving optimum health is something I continue to strive for. If losing even just a few more pounds improves my life in some way, then I want to go for it.

When I started officially training for my next half marathon, I weighed in at 153.5 lbs. In the 4 weeks that have followed, I have lost 4 lbs, down to 149.5 today. So I must be doing something right.

So what am I doing?

Well, for the past two weeks, I have been journaling again. You may remember a post I did on journaling and how it really helped me lose weight in the past.

Basically, I plan out my day in advance. In the evening of the day before, I’ll write out what I’m going to have for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks for the day, leaving only an after dinner snack up in the air. Sometimes I need one and sometimes I don’t, so I let that one just determine itself later.

I also write little notes to myself like “running 4 miles today” or “no eating after 9:00” as reminders of what I’ve got going on and what will help keep me on track. That 9:00 rule helps more than I ever would’ve imagined!

Yes, I do total up calories, most of the time, when I am able. Sometimes I don’t feel like it, so I won’t, and sometimes I just plain don’t know the calorie info for something so I leave it blank and go on. I feel like as of right now, I have a comfortable relationship with this system. I don’t obsess, I don’t worry if something had 700 calories and I missed it. I just stay positive and move on. It’s just so good to be aware again.

I don’t set a “goal” or a “limit” for myself in any way. I just portion control the food I think I need to eat for the day (since I spend most of the day away from home), I judge my hunger levels appropriately and then tally everything up as best I can at the end of the day. Most of the time, over the course of a week, I eat an average of 1700 calories per day. Sometimes 2000, sometimes 1500, it just depends on what I had going on that particular day.

No day is the same, I tell you. Obviously I need to eat more when I run and my hunger lets me know that. I eat less on rest days naturally. I’m going to eat a little more (and perhaps have a glass of wine) at special events and my Wednesday night potluck dinners with my girlfriends. Whatever I do has to fit into my life or else it’s not worth doing 🙂

So I’m going to keep using this system for a while. Seeing, writing and planning ahead for what I eat is very helpful to me, plus it also helps me make an easy grocery list and use stuff up around the house which is good for my financial situation too.

It’s a win-win for me, but I realize that this way of doing things does not work for everyone so please don’t take my word for it, find out for yourself what is best for you.

If this ever becomes a burden to me in any way, trust me, I will move on to something else. Have I told you how eating vegan and practicing yoga again has made me so much more positive and peaceful? Anyway…

In summary…

  • I keep a food journal where I plan meals, snacks, etc. and total up calories most days
  • I run, weight train, and practice yoga
  • I’m eating a vegan diet and loving every minute of it
  • I listen to my body and eat an extra snack if I need to or talk myself out of one if I don’t
  • I stop eating at 9:00 p.m. (an hour before bedtime) most days of the week (with an exception if I’m up really late and feel hungry again)
  • I only weigh once a week, on Mondays
  • I have no specific goal in mind, only to try this out and see what happens
  • Positivity all the way!

Hope the first day of February is a good one for you! Thanks for reading.

Edited to add: Check out this post from a year ago! Funny how as much as things change, they remain the same 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 1, 2010, in challenges, Weight, weight loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Love your overall attitude about weight loss and health. Would love to send you some of our raw, vegan mutlivitamins to try now that you’ve gone vegan. I’m on Twitter @gardenofliferaw if you’re interested. Good luck with your efforts!

  2. Great goals. I’m also feeling inspired for a change since it is the first of the month and everything. Good luck!

  3. What a great attitude and goals! It sounds like you have a really healthy approach to this!

  4. Thanks for the support everyone 🙂

  5. Sounds like you are doing a great job! Your loss is an achievement and I love how you are making it part of your lifestyle! Good luck.

  6. That is really great you are journaling. I like what I look like at a much lower weight, but I can’t seem to maintain that because I love food so so much! I have come to terms with the fact I will never be that weight if I want to enjoy food like I do, and I am learning to love myself where I am. But the whole process is tough and you definitely have good days and bad days. Congrats on the weight loss so far though. You are wonderful.

  7. You are such a healthy example to others. Thanks for putting forth such a positive attitude…it rubs off! I have no doubt that you will accomplish anything you put your mind to!

    ps-Thanks for the bday wishes! Yes, a lot of snow, but the kids just found out that they DO have school tomorrow…and they are not thrilled!

  8. Love your attitude about everything! You’re an inspiration, and I liked that you listed off what you’re doing now. It reminded me of a lot of things I can change myself. Good luck on your weight loss journey! I am sure you`ll do great! I love your positive attitude I lack that most of the time.

  9. I am sure you will reach your goals! we seem to have the same numbers in minds so maybe we can push eachother =)

  1. Pingback: Pound For Pound Challenge « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

