Synchronicity

Earlier in the day, I started not feeling so good. My throat was a little scratchy and my body ached a little bit. But with the weather being the way it has been lately, I’m sure it’s just a reaction of some sort.

But it almost talked me out of my run today. I say almost because I still got dressed and headed out with Farrah after work. We had five miles on the agenda and while we were both feeling less than 100%, we decided to go for it!

Since we do the same paths a lot of the time, we decided to change it up and try a new route, which takes us part of the way downtown and back. It was so neat to see the parts of our city that I don’t get to often enough 🙂

Distance: 5.25 miles

Time: 49:45

Pace: 9:29/mile

Wowzah, we were fast today! We had to stop at a few stoplights at first (which I stopped my watch at) but then I got synchronized somehow because every time I came up on an intersection, the light changed!

Sometimes you have to talk yourself into exercise or drag yourself out of a funk. And when you do, it is an amazing feeling. What a great run today; imagine if I’d skipped it!

You know what else? The sore throat magically went away.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 1, 2010, in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wowzah is right! That’s an AWESOME 5 miles right there!! Don’t you love when a run turns out to be amazing when you least expect it?! Hope your throat feels better!

  1. Pingback: Taking it “easy” « River City Fitness

  2. Pingback: Outrunning the snow « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

