Taking it "easy"

After that awesome 5-mile run yesterday, I knew it would be better to take it easy today. But trust me, there was nothing easy about this workout!

First, I decided to run a quick mile on the treadmill.

After warming up for 5 minutes (walking), I did 0.25 mile laps where I gradually increased my speed. The first lap, I stayed at 5.5; the second I went up to 6.0; then 6.2 on the third; then finally 6.5 on the last, though I sprinted at 7.0 and 7.5 at the end. That felt awesome!

Distance: 1.0 miles

Time: 9:53

Pace: 9:53/mile

Afterward, I hit the weight room as it was long overdue! One week since my last session, to be exact (my goal is 2x per week).

I won’t bore you with the weights I used but I did 2 sets of 15 reps for each exercise.

  • Leg extension machine
  • Seated leg curl machine
  • Chest presses
  • Combined bicep curl + shoulder press
  • Shoulder shrugs
  • Tricep extensions
  • Upright row
  • Lateral raises
  • Front raises

Still need to do some abs, maybe tonight when I get home 😉

My arms were shaking even when I got back to work! I always feel so much stronger and happier when I keep up with my strength training. I’m hoping to do this again on Friday.

I’m taking tomorrow “off” because I have a dentist appointment and the girls are coming over to my place for our potluck tomorrow, so there’s lots to do.

But I’m hoping to get a nice walk in and definitely some yoga 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 2, 2010, in running, weight training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

