Yoga slacker and walking breaks

Confession time: Until this very morning, I had not done any yoga since the class I attended last Thursday! 😦

I think I sort of let the disappointment of the class get to my head, plus with the snow and everything over the weekend, my normal “schedule” just got thrown out of whack. But I’m happy to say I am refocused again!

Maybe someday!

Today, I did a 20 minute practice on my own in my living room.

I turned on some relaxing tunes, kept the lights low, and just went with it. I like to start in a seated position, warm up and stretch my neck and shoulder muscles (which were sore from my weight training yesterday), and then do a few cat & cow stretches to warm up my back. I pretty much do this every time!

Then I went into downward facing dog. I included my two favorite poses, half pigeon and tree pose. I actually found tree pose to be very challenging, balance-wise, this morning and I’m sure that’s because I’ve been a yoga slacker the past week.

I also included the Warrior series today, which felt great to my legs after running the past two days.

Today, I have a dental appointment so I’m not able to make it to the gym or run for any length of time. What to do on days like this?

WALKING BREAKS!

I get two 15-minute breaks at work and while it’s certainly not warm outside today, the sun is shining and the cool breeze will just inspire me to walk faster, right?

Two 15-minute walking breaks add up to 30 minutes of walking, plus I plan to walk to my car later this afternoon (instead of taking the shuttle, which I did this morning because it was too cold) which will add another 15 minutes on. So by the end of the day, I can say I did 20 minutes of yoga and spent 45 minutes walking for my exercise!

What do you do for exercise when you are pressed for time?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 3, 2010, in Walking, yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kettlebells while watching TV! Good workout – even during commercials can get tons of abs in!

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

