Chickened out

I was supposed to run 4 miles today. Hmm…

I had actually not felt like doing it all day but I thought it was just because I was doubting myself or just being lazy.

But when I left work, I actually felt really good and had my route all planned out, so I was ready to go!

Then, as soon as that cold air hit me as I walked outside, I said “Uh, no!” I chickened out!

I ended up visiting an old friend I hadn’t seen in a loooong time.

008

I did the elliptical trainer for 45 minutes!

I felt like I went pretty slow, but I had it on the “fat burning” program, so the resistance was intense. But I noticed that I did not burn as many calories as I normally would. I thought it was just this machine, but apparently it is a big ol’ fitness fallacy!

I’m glad I still got a workout in today, even if it wasn’t a 4 mile run. I just wasn’t feeling it today and I’ve found that it’s always better to go with your gut.

I’m starting to think that this program has me running too many days per week. I think I’d be more comfortable at 3 or 4 days/week (as opposed to 5), I just need to figure out the miles spread.

It’s not that I can’t run 5 days a week. In fact, I have felt pretty good, no soreness or anything lately. It’s just that mental burnout I am afraid of. I don’t want to get tired of running!

I haven’t been able to do a long run on a Saturday in a few weeks now and this week isn’t looking much better. We are expecting more snow!

Runner: How many days a week do you run? Mileage?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 4, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I run 3 times a week now and never two days in a row. Mileage is super low…9 miles a week! I want to slowly increase to 20 a week.

  2. I did the elliptical fat burner mode the other day too! 🙂

  1. Pingback: My new program « River City Fitness

  2. Pingback: Now that’s a workout! « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

