Peanutty tofu

Since I am apparently hooked on the tofu stir fry, I decided to try a new version this week (thanks to Mari).

I found this recipe for tofu and vegetable stir fry with peanut sauce on Compassionate Cooks website.

First, I browned the tofu.

003

Then I cooked the veggies. I chose onion, mushrooms and half a bag of frozen stir fry mix which contained carrots, green beans, broccoli, red pepper, and mini corn.

002

Then I threw it all together back in the skillet. Then I drizzled the peanut sauce on and stirred well.

004

All done, on top of some brown rice!

005

The peanut sauce was quite tasty, very different from what I’m used to using in my stir fry dishes. I think next time I’d take the author’s suggestion and use red pepper flakes to make it spicier!

I am currently working on this for dessert πŸ™‚

006

Hope you’ve had a good night! Thank goodness tomorrow is Friday πŸ™‚

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 4, 2010, in Dessert, Dinner, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I love peanut sauce!!! I’ve used it on veggies & rice before, but never thought of it with tofu. Yummm! πŸ˜‰

  2. Peanut sauce is the best πŸ™‚

  3. That looks really good πŸ™‚ I love peanut sauce!

  4. Hi Sarah,

    I really enjoy reading your blog! In fact, it was because of you and some other bloggers that I finally found the motivation to start a running program. My first 5k will be in May! I am so excited! πŸ™‚

    Making peanut sauce spicier makes a BIG difference in the flavor…it makes it SOOOO good! If I were you, I would try browning the tofu a little longer…it will give it a better taste and texture! πŸ™‚

  5. Yes- I’m a big fan of spicy! I put red pepper flakes into alot of things you probably wouldn’t normally think they should go in… oh well! (I think my stomach may or may not be made of steel, so it’s totally ok)

  6. I heart PB Tofu Stir fry! I add red pepper flakes to mine and either chili bean sauce or szechuan hot paste =). I like mine very spicy

    I am having this for din din tonight =)

  7. You can never go wrong with a tofu stir-fry. I must try the chocolate chips on toast thing. I love PB. I love chocolate chips. I love toast … so … what am I waiting for?

  8. Peanut sauce is where it’s at. I always order the ‘Indonesian Peanut Sautee’ from Noodles & Co.
    You can’t go wrong with red pepper flakes and Siracha sauce!

  9. This is why I read blogs. My desserts lately have so fallen flat…meaning, it is either frozen quark, or a small waffle cone with homemade pudding. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

