My new program

After I chickened out and did the elliptical trainer yesterday, I decided I needed to review my current training plan and perhaps adjust a few things.

Here are the problems I’ve been encountering so far:

  • Running too many days a week (could lead to mental burnout)
  • Saturdays have not been good for long runs due to snow
  • Yoga keeps getting pushed back
  • I want/need to do more strength training
  • Need a true core workout, more than just a set of crunches here or there

So, I took a look at my training page and made some adjustments for next week. (This still won’t be a typical week since I have a race next Saturday)

Week 11 (Feb 7 – 13)

Sunday – Core workout (at home)

Monday – Run 5-6 miles

Tuesday – Weight training

Wednesday – Yoga

Thursday – Run 5 miles

Friday – Weight training

Saturday – Run Snowman Shuffle race (4 miles)

That looks a lot better 🙂

I think I may just have to take it week by week but these adjustments are necessary and hopefully I will still get a good amount of training in and be ready for the mini marathon on April 24th!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 5, 2010, in running, weight training, yoga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Mine has to be week by week! 🙂 Hopefully to see you tomorrow for power yoga!

Leave a Reply

