First Vegan Superbowl

Every year for the Superbowl, we go to my in-laws house to eat dinner and watch the game. Our plans this year were no different, but the experience was quite different in the food that I ate!

Last year when I blogged about the Superbowl I had finally returned to work after a horrific snow/ice storm that shut down schools, made our city a big mess and left a lot of homes without power for several days. So good that has not happened again this year, knock on wood (though we are expecting another big snow tonight).

I also talked about how I went a little overboard on the food that I ate and how exercise had been pretty much nil thanks to the treacherous conditions outdoors. Just looking at those day’s eats vs. yesterday’s, it is amazing to see how far I have come. I remember how crappy I felt, not just physically (it was bad) but emotionally, after I ate all that I did last year.

I didn’t take any pictures this year but my in-laws were very accomodating to me, much like on Thanksgiving. They are the best!

Let’s compare shall we?

Last year for dinner, I had:

  • Beef stroganoff
  • Corn on the cob
  • Stuffing
  • Macaroni and cheese
  • Shrimp
  • Chips & queso (x a few)
  • Apple pie
  • Chocolate pie

And I still can’t figure out where I was earlier in the day but I had a big brownie with ice cream after lunch that day. Wow!

For dinner this year, I had:

  • My favorite vegan meatloaf
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Mushroom stuffing
  • Broccoli
  • Corn
  • 1 Dinner roll with Smart Balance Light
  • Baked apples (dessert)

Everything but the meatloaf was prepared by my stepmother-in-law, who so graciously made it all without dairy, eggs, etc. Plus a few family members tried the meatloaf and said it tasted really good. This recipe is a crowd pleaser!

I was full after dinner and I waited until I felt hungry again before eating dessert. I did not go overboard and I filled my body with foods that are agreeable to my system and my soul. It just doesn’t get much better than that.

Once again, I’m proud to have celebrated another vegan milestone 🙂

Next up, my first vegan Daytona 500 / Valentine’s Day. I can’t wait!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 8, 2010, in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Wow! That is a big change from one year to the next. Congrats!!! I still ate crap yesterday. Vegan crap, but still crap. Too many chips, too much dip, too many seitan hot wings, too many glasses of wine. But it was fun. And the Saints won! Wooo!

  2. Good for you, girl! You rock!

  3. Awesome.. thats one superbowl party I wouldnt have minded attending!!! 🙂

  4. Yay!! good for you! It all sounds delicious!

  5. What an awesome change Sarah! Love it!

  6. Wow what a difference a year makes…I am so proud of you

  7. Good for you! I find parties like that are so hard on me … even if I’m not eating any of the bad stuff, I feel stressed about it. My husband doesn’t understand why … he’s one of those “If you don’t want to eat it, don’t eat it” kind of guys. Of course, he’s also a guy who can eat anything and still lose weight. I, on the other hand, am not (nor am I a guy!).

    That’s quite a difference from last year – this year I am striving to listen to my body signals for meals like that. It’s just too easy to turn your brain off and give into the “it’s just one day” trap.

    K

  1. Pingback: I like it green « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

