Mucho soy

On Wednesday night, Courtney asked me if I wanted some more tea. Uh, did she see my tea post? Ha, of course!

011

I love you, Earl Grey. You are delicious!

Since you’ve already seen my breakfast from yesterday, let’s move on. I snacked on some nuts (and coffee) mid-morning.

003

As much as I love tea, I can’t resist a cup of coffee at work 🙂

Since my breakfast was a bit skimpy, I got hungry for lunch rather early. I went ahead and ate my tangerine (loving Vitamin C these days).

014

Then eventually broke into my leftover rice and beans!

015

I ate a Larabar around 1:00!

016

So it’s no surprise that I was starving by the time I was heading to the gym after work. It might just be full of air, but it got the job done.

023

Then I rehydrated with some Lifewater!

024

Dinner was some baked tofu (garlic powder, chili powder and sesame seeds) with a sweet potato and pita with Smart Balance Light.

017

As if I hadn’t had enough soy for the day, I decided to finish off the leftovers of my Tofu Chocolate Pudding from Wednesday night.

019

And a cup of Chocolate Cheerios!

020

Must’ve been that awesome elliptical workout that worked up such an appetite! I almost went back for more cereal but I realized I wasn’t hungry anymore, but tired.

So I maintained my 9:00 rule, went to bed at 10 and felt just fine 🙂

I used to be “afraid” of eating too much soy, but I’m so glad that I learned that soy in it’s “whole” forms: soybeans, tofu, soymilk, etc. is safe. It is the overly processed soy “products” (like meat substitutes) that can be consumed too much.

I highly recommend this article written by my friend and fellow vegan, Carrie.

What is your take on soy?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 12, 2010, in Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Your dinner looks delicious. This post features some of my favorite things: chocolate, sweet potatoes, and cherry pie larabars!
    I completely agree with you about the soy intake. I used to eat a lot of processed soy products, thinking they were healthy- Morningstar Farms, Boca, etc. but although they taste great, they’re not so stellar nutritionally. Nowadays I stick to the least processed forms of soy- tofu and tempeh mainly. I’m glad you brought this up!

  2. I have that same mug but it says Stephanie and says that the meaning is also princess! Is it a conspiracy?!?

  3. I have the same problem when I eat lunch too early. I go to the gym right after work and so its always later when I finally get to eat dinner. Snacks are essential!

    As for soy, I have no problem with it. I try to do all soy for breakfast, lunch, and dinner most days, but every once in a while I will have soy in multiple forms in one day. Today so far, I’ve had soymilk in my coffee, tempeh bacon for breakfast, and I’ll be eating tofu with my lunch.

  4. By the way, I should mention that “soy haters” are one of my biggest pet peeves. Unless, of course, folks have allergies to soy. That’s different. But soy is so good for you!

  5. ive been LOVING those choco cheerios! my FAV!! they are so good mixed in vaniller yogurt too!

  6. I have got to get my hands on some chocolate Cheerios! They look great!
    My take on soy is pretty much what you’ve said here – avoid processed soy products, aim for whole food products. I think it’s a good policy to follow for pretty much any type of food, actually!

  7. I have been consuming more Soy since I have been eating Tofu a lot more often..I try not to overthink it lol

    I wish I could find a mug like that…I was never able to get those license plates for my bike or cool pencils with my name on it etc because my name is so different.. what kind of parents name one child Jennifer and the other Mariette?!?! grrrrrr

  8. Chocolate cheerios sound so good! Great job on closing the kitchen too!

    I am not a huge fan of soy products. I don’t know how much of them are processed and what else is in there, but I do love me some tempeh or some organic tofu and edemame are perfection!

  9. I’ve always been pretty wary of soy just because I heard so many scary things about it! It’s hard, though, because soy is in so many of my favorite foods! So I make it a point to just eat it in moderation. I have a thyroid disorder, so I’ve read that I should make sure not too eat too much soy (due to the estrogen content). I’m interested in learning more about it, though, so I’m going to go ahead and read that article!

  1. Pingback: What I ate on Saturday « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

