Snowman Shuffle 4-miler 2010

Fear. Disappointment. Frustration. Those are just a few of the words that describe the run that did not happen today.

Today was one of the worst racing experiences I’ve ever had. I should have just stayed home to be perfectly honest.

The park roads were still covered with a lot of packed down snow and ice. I saw people slip and almost fall just walking to the start line. It was ridiculous, but then again some people were able to run 5:30/miles with no problem?

But me? I was so afraid of falling and hurting myself that I decided to walk. I was so mad, not that I had to walk, but that the course was in such poor condition. Shame.

Walking is great and I enjoy it, but it was so cold and miserable. I’m still chilled as I type this because it was one of those colds you just can’t shake all day.

Distance: Somewhere around 3.6 to 4 miles, who knows?

Time: 1:00:30 (minus a minute or two since they don’t use “chip” timers)

It’s behind me now and I’m still proud for going out there and getting a good walk in this morning. I’m definitely feeling it (hills) but I am so NOT feeling doing any more races before March from now on. I’m done!

I don’t like to dwell on the negative, but please tell me your bad racing experiences! I want to know I’m not alone 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 13, 2010, in Walking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

