Pushing the limit

Yesterday, I ran 4 miles on the treadmill.

I was “scheduled” for 5, but when I was closing in on 4, I figured I’d better quit while I was ahead. My knees were starting to hurt and I was feeling fatigued. A sure sign that I need to start refueling during longer runs, perhaps around mile 3?

I also felt like my “limit” on the treadmill was pushed a bit. I like to reserve it for short and speedy runs but today it was just too cold and I was in no mood to dodge snow and ice on the street and sidewalks. So getting to 4 was actually a big accomplishment, in my mind.

I took a short walking break in the middle to drink some water and catch my breath, so this pace is a bit slower than usual. But it was still a good run and I was proud afterwards!

Distance: 4 miles

Time: 45:11

Pace: 11:18/mile

My iPod was not working, so I had a lot of time to think during this run. Actually, that is what I prefer to do most of the time but the treadmill sometimes calls for distractions 😉

On this run, I got to thinking about the word training.

After some runs, I’m discouraged when my pace is slower than normal or when I can’t meet a distance I had set out to do. But isn’t that the point of training?

I can’t be at my best right now. I’m working towards it. It takes time, practice, patience. That is what training is all about! I’ll get there, it just won’t happen overnight. I have to keep at it.

So, I’m hopeful that even though the past few weeks have been challenging with the snow/ice and other conditions that have kept me from running as much as I would like, I can still train from here on out and do the best that I can considering the circumstances.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 18, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great workout! I did day 3 of week 5 of c25k this morning! My 5k is in like 2 weeks! (((((gasp)))))

  2. Way to be, Sarah! You have the right mindset for the training. You go!

  1. Pingback: Listening to your body « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

