What I’m giving up for Lent

I grew up in the Catholic faith but haven’t practiced in some time. But I never really converted away from it or anything. 

I consider myself a Christian and while I do attend a Baptist church, for me, it is more about having a relationship with Christ than what denomination you are. This is so not what this post is about, ha ha!

Anyway, even though I’m not Catholic, I still appreciate the season of Lent. According to Wikipedia, which describes it better than I could:

The traditional purpose of Lent is the preparation of the believer — through prayer, penitence, almsgiving and self-denial — for the annual commemoration during Holy Week of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus, which recalls the events linked to the Passion of Christ and culminates in Easter, the celebration of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Conventionally, it is described as being forty days long, though different denominations calculate the forty days differently. The forty days represent the time that, according to the Bible, Jesus spent in the desert before the beginning of his public ministry, where he endured temptation by Satan.

It is also a time where many in both the religious and secular worlds choose to give up their unhealthy vices and McDonald’s runs a sale on their fried fish sandwiches (don’t even get me started on that one). One of my favorite ideas in years past was instead of giving up something, add something in like daily exercise, a Bible study, or charitable endeavors.

I am a follower of Jesus, so this is a special time leading up to Easter, and I like to be focused and intentional in remembering the sacrifices He made for me. But I also like the idea of sacrificing something that is unhealthy for you. I’ve heard many stories of people who gave something up for Lent and kept it going afterwards.

I’ve also read on Twitter that a few people are going vegetarian or vegan for Lent! I hope they keep that up as well.

Yesterday, I went through my usual list of “demons”: diet soda, caffeine (which isn’t all bad, just too much), etc. But really, since I went Crap Free in February 2009 and vegan in October, I don’t have much left in my life that I find unhealthy or a vice, if you will. I don’t even chew gum anymore!

So I had to dig deep. What am I doing that is unhealthy for me? What do I need to sacrifice in order to learn something?

Stay tuned…

So you observe Lent? What are you doing this year?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 18, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Haha we are so different! You are talking smack about the filet o fish and I am plugging it on my page hahahaha but I still love ya!

    I am actually giving up meat and protein cookie dough! Soooooo what are you going to do? The suspense is killing me!

  2. It’s so sad I haven’t figured out when I’m giving up yet! It seems to be getting a little late to decide, but I guess I’ll be in the “better late than never” mode? hmmm

  3. I do observe lent. I have found that I have grown attached to sweets (even dc pb) and the praise that I get when I make it. So, while I will still make some (but not as many) I will not eat any this lent season. My pastor Sunday from Ps 146 brought out that even though we can praise other things, our highest praise goes to God. I’ve been craving and praising sweets a lot recently! 🙂

  4. I was a practicing Catholic for about two years (went through confirmation classes and baptism in the Catholic church in high school), and back then I gave up soda for Lent. That used to be my vice, but I don’t even drink it all anymore. I’m not really a Christian anymore, but I did think about giving up something this Lent…just for fun. But I did that whole crazy cleanse in January, so I kinda feel like I just had my Lent. So I’ve decided to forgo giving anything up. Good luck with whatever you decide to give up!

  5. So you don’t chew gum?!? That is amazing!! I wasn’t following blogs back in feb 09, but I’m going to go have to read about you going crap free because I’d really love to do that.

    • No, chewing gum had become such a bad habit and the sugar free varieties were giving me stomach problems. I have problem chewed gum twice in the past 6 months. It’s nice not to be dependent on it anymore. Definitely check out that post from February ’09 and so some research. Getting most artificial things out of my life was awesome!

  6. Hello! Lent… what to give up… I know i’m about two days late and as a practising christian I should give something up or take something on. But, I’m a bit of a stresshead and always giving something up or trying to cut back on something. So, I think I’m going to give up giving up! Instead I’m going to try to be more chilled and accepting of myself. 🙂

  7. I am not Catrholic, but I have always practiced Lent. My grandmother was catholic… This year I am giving up sugar……sigh…….I am gonna die….. 🙂
    That includes all the non calorie sweeteners too.
    It wouldn’t be a sacrifice if it wasn’t hard right!!!!

  1. Pingback: Sacrifice « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

