Working around the clock

I think we all have those pre-determined “meal times” in the back of our minds whether we realize it or not. When I first started eating healthier, I literally ate at 6:00, 9:00, 12:00, 3:00, 6:00, and 9:00 (meals and snacks).

I think that it’s good to eat every 3-4 hours to teach yourself to eat regularly (I never forget now) and also to keep blood sugar level and not get overly hungry (then overeat), but once you figure out what works for your body, you can let the exact times go.

In fact, we just need to just give up our “scheduling” and eat when we need to 🙂

I think I have discussed this here several times because it is something that I struggle with from time to time. For instance, I don’t like to eat lunch before 11:00, I try to put off an afternoon snack until 2 p.m., etc. It’s so silly!

We should eat when we are hungry and stop eating when we feel satisfied. That’s it!

Luckily, I got to put this into practice today.

I woke up early to go into work and ate breakfast not long before I woke up, even though it wasn’t quite my “normal” breakfast time. I had oat bran (with Silk almond milk), banana and peanut butter.

Since I ate earlier than normal, it is not a surprise that I felt hungry for a snack around 8:30-9, instead of my “usual” 10:00. But I did eat my usual mixed nuts.

Around 10:30, my stomach was grumbling for lunch, but I had a meeting to go to from 11-1. I didn’t want to have to inhale my lunch or wait and be starving at 1:00 when I got back. What to do?

Thank goodness I brought a sandwich! I just broke the sandwich in half, ate half + the tangerine before my meeting and the other half when I got back.

Now it is already 2:00 and I still have an afternoon snack whenever I am ready for it.

Had I waited until 1:00 to eat, I would’ve probably be so ravenous that my lunch would not have been sufficient and the afternoon snack would already be gone too. Or if I’d eaten the entire thing at 10:30, I would definitely have eaten that snack by now and might even be looking for another one!

The point is it really pays to listen to your body and let it go by it’s clock, not yours. I hope you do that for yourself today!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 18, 2010, in Breakfast, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. GREAT post. I have trouble with this, I always try to “wait” to have my lunch, or a snack, when really its just silly!

  2. I struggled with this same issue yesterday. I ate lunch at 10:30 and dinner at 3:30. Some days our bodies don’t follow a clock and that’s OK!

  3. Great post, it is so important to listen to our bodies’ hunger cues instead of going off of the “same old” routine. I like to keep a stash of healthy snacks at my desk for days when the meetings or conference calls drone on.

  4. Great post. That is actually something I struggle with and I am working on!

  5. This is a great topic! Fearing your hunger can be so awful. But what are we so afraid of? There’s like this worst case scenario where we eat tons more food than we set out to eat that day, but in truth, that almost never happens.
    Glad you brought this up, it’s always something I’m trying to be mindful of!

  1. Pingback: Listening to your body « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

