Feeling like me again

I am so glad I took yesterday off from running, but I still got in a great workout. I feel like I’m finally breaking free of that all-or-nothing mentality I picked up from somewhere.

It used to be that I would always find a way to workout, even if it wasn’t what I had wanted to do that day. I feel like I am finally getting back to that point!

But today I did run, because my legs were rested and I wanted to, and it felt GREAT! 🙂

Distance: 3.36 miles

Time: 35:00

Pace: 10:25/mile

This was another treadmill run. I have just lost my patience with the cold weather and snow/ice. Hopefully, Spring is almost here because I would much rather be outside.

This time last year, I was struggling to run  after a hiatus over the Fall and early Winter months. But I changed my attitude and vowed to just run because I love to run and stop competing with myself and beating myself up for not keeping up with my training.

I took a real lesson from that today. Yesterday I was freaking out that the mini-marathon is in two months. I haven’t done a long run in several weeks because Saturday seems to be the snow’s favorite day to dump on us. In fact, I haven’t ran more than 5 miles since I can’t even remember when.

But…I didn’t stop running after the races I did last Spring. I achieved a personal record in a 5K in May. I ran through the Summer, Fall, Winter until now and that has paid off tremendously. I can easily run 4-5 miles right now, a little slower on the treadmill but at a pretty decent pace (under 10:00/mile) outside. I’m doing way better than I was this time last year!

I am going to run this mini-marathon, perhaps not as well as I did in 2008 (but surely faster than 2009 when I walked it), but that doesn’t matter.

I’m just going to do it!

For more running stories, visit my Races page.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 19, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

