Improvising

On Saturday morning, I wanted a “special” breakfast and since I had some bread I needed to use up, I made French toast!

028

I didn’t have a recipe to go from and I didn’t feel like finding one, so I just guessed based on what I know about making French toast.

I think it turned out great!

030

French Toast

  • 2 slices of whole wheat bread
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 flax “egg” (1 tbsp flax + 1/4 cup water)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Two “shakes” of cinnamon
  • Sprinkle of ginger
  • Sprinkle of nutmeg

Mix all ingredients (except bread) together, then dip bread in mixture on each side. Then toast on a griddle or skillet for 3-4 minutes on each side or until browned.

031

I’m glad I just figured it out on my own instead of using a recipe. I want to experiment with other flavors and perhaps add in some raisins or other stuff in the future.

I’m so glad that being vegan does not mean I have to sacrifice foods that taste as good as this French toast did. In fact, I think it tastes better because it’s vegan 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 22, 2010, in Breakfast, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Did it get that crunchy exterior like normal french toast?

  2. The best vegan French toast I have had was from “Vegan with a Vegeance,” By Isa Chandra Maskowitz. she uses cornstarch and garbanzo flour in the batter…sounds weird, but oh, so good! If you have not tried out any of her cookbooks yet, then RUN…don’t walk to your nearest bookstore (or library) and get one NOW! You will not regret it! 🙂

  3. conradvisionquest

    mmmmm, french toast. when you say “1 tbsp flax” do you mean flax seed oil?

  4. That french toast looks absolutely divine! I haven`t had french toast in forever!!!

Leave a Reply

